Jump to content


Switches


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 17 October 2005 - 06:04 PM

I am planning on plugging my network into a switch or a hub, the question i have it really quite simple, i will be sharing the internet, documents and settings for roaming profiles and also sometimes gaming e.t.c

IS this the best solution or should i get a router?

I did have one at home but i don't live there anymore so i am just considering my options

#2 gamer_pro_2000

gamer_pro_2000

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Country:United States

Posted 17 October 2005 - 07:28 PM

A router would be better, but just for internet sharing and file sharing, your switch should do the job. :P

#3 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 17 October 2005 - 07:30 PM

Thanks mate :P

#4 clarky3429

clarky3429

    No I will not fix your computer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Country:Australia

Posted 17 October 2005 - 08:09 PM

lol, or u could be like me with 2 routers, wireless and a hub....LOL

#5 Visentinel

Visentinel

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Location:NSW Australia

Posted 18 October 2005 - 07:23 AM

View Postclarky3429, on Oct 18 2005, 06:09 AM, said:

lol, or u could be like me with 2 routers, wireless and a hub....LOL

:(
Your network must be very confused :P

#6 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 18 October 2005 - 01:45 PM

I have one router... to that router is a DSL modem... am I doing something wrong O.o

:P

#7 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 18 October 2005 - 02:43 PM

erm my router at home was a modem and router integrated... :P

#8 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 18 October 2005 - 02:52 PM

Stupid linksys Wireless B *kick*

#9 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 18 October 2005 - 02:54 PM

check up on it, maybe it should provide internet access :)

Otherwise it's more of a hub/switch not a router

#10 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 18 October 2005 - 03:00 PM

it says "Wireless Router" on it

#11 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 18 October 2005 - 05:02 PM

Now now, i never said it WASN'T a router, i said it's more of a hub/switch :)

#12 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 18 October 2005 - 05:06 PM

well it's a pos that's what it is lol

#13 RedInferno

RedInferno

    Your mom

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,584 posts
  • Location:What's it to ya, bub?
  • Country:North America

Posted 19 October 2005 - 12:19 AM

View Postgamer_pro_2000, on Oct 17 2005, 02:28 PM, said:

A router would be better, but just for internet sharing and file sharing, your switch should do the job. :)

Just make sure you got a firewall, a switch doesn't have any fitering at all.

#14 Visentinel

Visentinel

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Location:NSW Australia

Posted 19 October 2005 - 04:40 AM

nonono it IS a router, it more than likely is designed to connect to a Broadband modem of any kind like Satnet / Cable / ADSL

you connect the modem to the router's Internet Network Connection and the router connects to the internet using PPPoE, the modem is used as a Bridge, The Computers plug to the Routers LAN Network Plugs.

Still i just think its better to use a Modem/Router so its all built into a single Package :) also with Built in Modem/Routers when you have ADSL you can use PPPoA where necessary, some isp's use Either PPPoE or PPPoA Encapsulation and if you don't use the same encapsulation as your ISP you loose like 15k/sec of Bandwidth or more on your Upload / Download.

#15 patman174

patman174

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 217 posts

Posted 19 October 2005 - 04:57 AM

hey karl, dont buy another router/modem combo. Remember the problems we had. Also dont buy a hub, hubs just repeat the signal and send it through every port, use of bandwith on your network. I recommend going with a switch. I know the plan you told me on your network, so i recommend getting 1 or 2, 8 port switches. That should do the job. A switch only sends the info out the port that is wanting it. Switch is much more efficient and is cheaper. A router, you deal with the configuring of it all. Port forwarding, that sort of thing. Thats just my suggestion on it all. We can talk on this later if you like.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users