Jump to content


Google Desktop vs. MS Desktop Search


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

Poll: Microsoft or Google

Your favorite Desktop Search app

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 21 October 2009 - 04:11 PM

Do you use Google/MS desktop search application?
Which do you prefer?

#2 hog

hog

    official linguist

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,302 posts
  • Location:Montreal area, QC
  • Country:Canada

Posted 21 October 2009 - 05:24 PM

You should add the option "none" for dudes like me who simply type google.com in their browser... or don't need to search for stuff because they know it all.

#3 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 21 October 2009 - 06:56 PM

That's "other" :moreilly:

But this is for searching your computer :cheers: not the web :banj0:

#4 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 21 October 2009 - 07:23 PM

None.

#5 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,246 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 21 October 2009 - 08:48 PM

:moreilly: ditto Rik

#6 eniparadoxgma

eniparadoxgma

    Thomas S. Arashikage

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Country:USA

Posted 21 October 2009 - 11:04 PM

I also don't use one. What's the point? Isn't that what the "search" in Windows explorer is for?

#7 banj0

banj0

    American Idle

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location:Detroit
  • Country:States

Posted 22 October 2009 - 02:43 AM

I use google desktop. Windows' search is way too f'n slow imo. I want results NOW!!! :cheers: The other day I wanted to check out that scene where Jenna Jameson and her girlfriend were g.....


nm. :moreilly:

#8 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,788 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 22 October 2009 - 03:21 AM

View Posthog, on Oct 21 2009, 10:24 AM, said:

You should add the option "none" for dudes like me who don't need to search for stuff because they know it all.

Nice to have a "know it all" in our forum :moreilly:

I dont use one either. my OS desktop is fine, and i generally have a program or browser tab hogging the show

#9 eniparadoxgma

eniparadoxgma

    Thomas S. Arashikage

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Country:USA

Posted 22 October 2009 - 03:49 AM

View Postbanj0, on Oct 21 2009, 10:43 PM, said:

I use google desktop. Windows' search is way too f'n slow imo. I want results NOW!!! :banj0: The other day I wanted to check out that scene where Jenna Jameson and her girlfriend were g.....
nm. :cheers:

Upgrade! (lol)

Seriously, even with like 3 terabytes or however much crap I have it only takes me maybe 15 seconds to search for something. :moreilly:

#10 banj0

banj0

    American Idle

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location:Detroit
  • Country:States

Posted 22 October 2009 - 06:23 AM

View Posteniparadoxgma, on Oct 21 2009, 11:49 PM, said:

Seriously, even with like 3 terabytes or however much crap I have it only takes me maybe 15 seconds to search for something. :moreilly:

why spend 15 seconds when you can see the results as you type? I can do a lot in 15 seconds. The other day I wanted to check out that scene where Jenna Jameson and her girlfriend were g.....

dammit. :cheers:

#11 Christopholofigus

Christopholofigus

    Motorcycles and running

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,083 posts
  • Location:Evans Georgia
  • Interests:Holy CRAPBALLS! I totally remember this place!
  • Country:USA

Posted 22 October 2009 - 05:51 PM

I just use the integrated search in the 7 start orb. If that doesn't get me what I want, then I hit WHS and just browse around with explorer. So, ummm, other for me.

#12 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 22 October 2009 - 11:41 PM

View PostChristopholofigus, on Oct 22 2009, 07:51 PM, said:

I just use the integrated search in the 7 start orb. If that doesn't get me what I want, then I hit WHS and just browse around with explorer. So, ummm, other for me.
That's the MS Desktop Search mate :moreilly:

I prefer the Google Desktop btw... it's just that tiny little bit more user friendly. Although I don't trust Google... Choices choices choices




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users