Jump to content


Installing vista with xp, won't boot


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 05 September 2006 - 01:30 AM

I have xp installed under C: drive. My vista was installed on another hard drive and is shown as being F: drive. However, even when that drive is set to boot Vista will not. Instead XP boots eveytime. Is there a way to get this to work? Help would be greatly appreciated!

#2 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,788 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 05 September 2006 - 01:33 AM

Vista has to boot from C:. Can you re arrange your drive letters?

#3 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 05 September 2006 - 01:36 AM

View Postchriso_86, on Sep 4 2006, 06:30 PM, said:

I have xp installed under C: drive. My vista was installed on another hard drive and is shown as being F: drive. However, even when that drive is set to boot Vista will not. Instead XP boots eveytime. Is there a way to get this to work? Help would be greatly appreciated!
set the vista drive, in bios, to boot first. you might have a corrupt loader :lol:

was the vista drive(s) the only one in the system when you installed?

#4 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 05 September 2006 - 01:46 AM

No, I had several drives as options to install on. I guess I could rename the drive letters, will that mess up xp?

#5 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 05 September 2006 - 03:27 AM

Ok, I tried to rename the drive letters but it says that you can't rename a system or boot drive letter. So, xp won't let me. I also tried that vista boot pro and it keeps giving me a error that says it cannot access BCD registry and to right click and run as administrator. That doesn't work either. So, I am kind of at a dead end once again!

#6 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 05 September 2006 - 03:40 AM

unless dave can come up with a better idea, i would reinstall vista without any other drives in the system

#7 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,788 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 05 September 2006 - 03:41 AM

well i can tell you how to get XP and Vista working together, but i think you already know, and i dont think you like it :lol: but since you already have a fresh install of XP, and really no data or apps installed on it, its not that bad. Just remember Vista needs to be installed on C, where the BCDEdit is.

You may try this before starting fresh: http://www.linux.com...6/04/25/1917228

Edited by Nvyseal, 05 September 2006 - 04:06 AM.


#8 Camaro

Camaro

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 907 posts
  • Country:USA

Posted 15 September 2006 - 02:24 AM

Did you get this taken care of?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users