Jump to content


Vista RC1 and X-Fi


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 10 September 2006 - 04:28 PM

Has anyone gotten X-Fi cards to work on Vista RC1? I installed the beta drivers from Creative and they don't seem to work for me. They did however work on the last release, however I think it was a 32bit version. The version I am using now is a 64bit version.

#2 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,788 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 10 September 2006 - 04:44 PM

try reading this chris, there should be a readme.txt you need to look at

http://www.techspot.com/drivers/driver/fil...formation/7828/

#3 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 10 September 2006 - 06:05 PM

Ok, I will download those and see if they are any different. Thanks!!

#4 David_Heavey

David_Heavey

    =IBF2= Cofounder

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 949 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Country:Ireland

Posted 10 September 2006 - 06:45 PM

Hey Chris. I got them working. If you unzip the drivers to your HD and look inside the "Readme/English folder you'll see a readme with instructions. Here's how:

1) Restart your computer
2) During startup, press F8.
3) Select Advanced Boot Options.
4) Select Disable Driver Signature Enforcement.
5) Install the Beta driver.
6) Restart your computer.

You will get a lot of pop-up warnings about Vista needing signed drivers (or something like that) during the driver installation. You can just close these. You MUST press F8 and select "Select Disable Driver Signature Enforcement" on everyboot up. Otherwise Windows won't load the drivers.

I'm listening to Prince Sexy MF as I type this so they do work B)

Good luck

#5 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 10 September 2006 - 06:51 PM

is there a reg entry that can be altered?

#6 David_Heavey

David_Heavey

    =IBF2= Cofounder

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 949 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Country:Ireland

Posted 10 September 2006 - 06:53 PM

hee hee. I just loaded Vista today and the guy is asking for reg entries that can be altered :(

#7 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 10 September 2006 - 07:14 PM

View PostDavid_Heavey, on Sep 10 2006, 11:53 AM, said:

hee hee. I just loaded Vista today and the guy is asking for reg entries that can be altered :(
bcdedit /set nointegritychecks ON
???

update: vista took the command...wonder if this will do it for the x-fi drivers...

Attached File  unsigned.jpg   25.73K   60 downloads

#8 David_Heavey

David_Heavey

    =IBF2= Cofounder

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 949 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Country:Ireland

Posted 10 September 2006 - 07:49 PM

View Postm.oreilly, on Sep 10 2006, 08:14 PM, said:

update: vista took the command...wonder if this will do it for the x-fi drivers...
I'll let you know in a bit

#9 David_Heavey

David_Heavey

    =IBF2= Cofounder

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 949 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Country:Ireland

Posted 10 September 2006 - 10:21 PM

That didn't work for me MO

#10 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 10 September 2006 - 10:57 PM

Thanks Dave!!! I will try that, I am sure it will work for me as well!

#11 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 September 2006 - 01:39 AM

View PostDavid_Heavey, on Sep 10 2006, 03:21 PM, said:

That didn't work for me MO
even after taking ownership of the root drive? :(

#12 David_Heavey

David_Heavey

    =IBF2= Cofounder

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 949 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Country:Ireland

Posted 11 September 2006 - 04:49 PM

nope :(

#13 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 15 September 2006 - 06:17 PM

Well, I tried that and when I am booting I press F8 like a billion times and it doen't bring up any options for me to change that driver thingy. It justs keeps on going.

#14 David_Heavey

David_Heavey

    =IBF2= Cofounder

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 949 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Country:Ireland

Posted 16 September 2006 - 01:03 AM

Have you tried VistaBootPro? I just found there is an option in the "advanced" tab to allow Vista to boot with "Allow use of unsigned drivers in x64 Edition" enabled.

#15 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 16 September 2006 - 01:28 AM

View PostDavid_Heavey, on Sep 15 2006, 06:03 PM, said:

Have you tried VistaBootPro? I just found there is an option in the "advanced" tab to allow Vista to boot with "Allow use of unsigned drivers in x64 Edition" enabled.
ah ha!
but that is along the lines of the "nointegritychecks" thingy... :angry:

i wonder what would happen if you do the "no" thing, and then install the creative drivers?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users