Jump to content


Using Windows 7


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
29 replies to this topic

#16 Guest_scaramonga_*

Guest_scaramonga_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 November 2008 - 06:14 PM

View PostLinoman, on Nov 23 2008, 09:25 AM, said:

The audigy driver from Windows Update refuses to install. I mean seriously WTF :green_beer:

Download the driver package and run the setup.exe through the compatibility troubleshooter, try as Vista first, if that fails, use XP mode.

:rofl_mini:

#17 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 24 November 2008 - 06:33 PM

View Postscaramonga, on Nov 24 2008, 08:14 PM, said:

Download the driver package and run the setup.exe through the compatibility troubleshooter, try as Vista first, if that fails, use XP mode.

:green_beer:

Thanks buddy already did that and it didn't help. Was my first choice

#18 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 25 November 2008 - 06:55 AM

I eventually discovered what the problem was aka is.

1) BlueBadge making it look all pretty seriously damaged Win7's ability to install an audio driver :P
2) I can only install the Audigy Driver found in Windows Update installing any other results in an instant BSOD :P
3) As a result of using the MS driver I can only get stereo sound on the system and 5.1 is impossible.

#19 os collector

os collector

    2nd Innings

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Location:IND
  • Interests:programming, Reverse Engineering, Writing tutorials
  • Country:india

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:50 PM

enjoy whatever you got budy after all it's a pre beta version so feel relax & happy

#20 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 03 December 2008 - 06:55 PM

any news on a more recent "release"...? :P

#21 os collector

os collector

    2nd Innings

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Location:IND
  • Interests:programming, Reverse Engineering, Writing tutorials
  • Country:india

Posted 03 December 2008 - 07:43 PM

yep you are in US be happy & collect $100 for MDC to get beta 1 of windows 7 :P

#22 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 14 December 2008 - 03:20 PM

How can I make 7 dualboot with XP? it seems it's flashing past the bootloader before I even have a chance at switching

Ok, that one was solved easily, but I have a new problem...

I currently have a very old SoundBlaster Live! 5.1 card installed, but the audio is C R A P P Y !

Any ideas how to solve this?

Update again!
Yay for good ol' KX-driver project, it still rocks out any other driver!

Yay, new problem:
Messenger Beta seems to disconnect every once in a while, just for fun!

#23 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 14 December 2008 - 08:04 PM

hey sphere, that driver looks sweet, didn't know it existed :P
as for the boot thing, you might download 'vista boot pro'. install in win7, and choose which os you have on your system that you want to boot to. it really is a lifesaver at times. if this is not the issue (not detecting xp/legacy boot loader), the advanced settings in system should give you a choice as to how long boot/os choices are to be displayed...

#24 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 14 December 2008 - 08:12 PM

Yeah, I discovered the KX driver a few years ago, when I had my first 5.1 card. It didn't give any output to the center speaker by default, and the KX solved that, and appearantly, it works in every windows, I've had it working from 95 now all the way up to Windows7, all on the same version.

Although... when installing in Vista (and 7 too), you will get a bsod the first time of installation, after that, rerun the installation, and all works fine (just ignore the VST question :P )


p.s.
This is the first time, that right after booting into Windows, I actually really like it and have a nice feel about it!

#25 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 15 December 2008 - 09:59 PM

Ok, here's a concept:
Don't install Kaspersky on 7! it'll BSoD it!
Thought that while I had spare licenses, might as well install it, because, well, I like it!
Except on 7 now that is, I guess I'm gonna get me AVG or so, any advice on which free AntiVirus is good on 7?

#26 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 15 December 2008 - 11:52 PM

a 'trial' version of nod32/eset is a safe bet. i don't trust avg, though many use it. i'm going to install nod on my fresh win7 tonight.

#27 Tweak

Tweak

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 674 posts
  • Country:US

Posted 16 December 2008 - 12:27 AM

Wouldn't avast work with it, was one of the first without issue with Vista if I recall. (And is free of course)

#28 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 04 January 2009 - 01:43 PM

My 7 won't boot anymore, I get the loading screen, and then my screen just goes blank. My monitor shuts off to standby, and nothing happens anymore.

Anyone got a clue what's going on?
And what's the latest version, maybe it timed out?

#29 os collector

os collector

    2nd Innings

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Location:IND
  • Interests:programming, Reverse Engineering, Writing tutorials
  • Country:india

Posted 04 January 2009 - 05:22 PM

if you are with 6.1.7000 then we have 1 more left exp date is 07-02-09

try to boot on safe mode & restore

#30 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 04 January 2009 - 06:21 PM

I think I have an older, not the official beta1

6593 or something?

I'll try the safemode later today, for now working from XP on my website (yes, it's back online :rofl_mini: )




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users