Jump to content


Overclock


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 06 July 2006 - 12:32 PM

Freq.: CPU Int. (Core / Mem / AGP / PCI)

At home I have an Athlon64 3000+ (s939) working @ 110%:

Initial: 1,80 GHz (200 / 200 / 66,6 / 33,3)
Final: 1,98 GHz (220 / 220 / 66,6 / 33,3)
DDR: 200*2*1,10 = 440 MHz
RAM Timing: 3-4-4-8
Status: Stable
CPU Temp on load: ~ 50-60 C

At work I use an P4 HT 3,00 GHz (mPGA 478) working 127%:

Initial: 3,00GHz (200 / 200 / 66,6 / 33,3)
Final: 3,80 GHz (253 / 211 / 66,6 / 33,3)
DDR: 166*2*1,27 ~ 422 MHz
RAM Timing: 3-4-4-8
Status: Stable
CPU Temp on load: ~ 40-50 C

#2 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 16 July 2006 - 06:26 PM

Well once I tried to over clock my Celeron 900mhz and I got it up to 1 GHZ

#3 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,788 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 16 July 2006 - 08:01 PM

It would be nice to have a tutorial on "how to" overclock here on x64 :cool2:

#4 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 17 July 2006 - 11:34 AM

The only thing I can write about when it comes to overclocking is using one of those automatic apps. Geez I hate those,,,

#5 Dutchie

Dutchie

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Interests:Fieldhockey nd ice skating
  • Country:The Netherlands

Posted 17 July 2006 - 02:14 PM

I use my computer the way it's build. I don't know how to overclock, a guide would be usefull, yes!

#6 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 17 July 2006 - 03:44 PM

Athlon64 - Simple Overclock Guide for AMD Athlon64

Stock Profile:

Athlon64 3000+ (S939)
Speed: 1800 MHz
Core Speed: 200 MHz
Multiplier: 9X
-----------------------------------

The CPU has an internal clock (core clock) generated by the clock generator chip.
If you increase (in BIOS) the core frequency, the MoBo FSB is also incrases at the same rate.
Memory frequency is also controlled by the FSB, so be aware that you may be overclocking memory as well.
HTT (Hyper Transport) is a fast data transfer way between CPU and AGP, and also depends of the core clock.
In all s939 CPUs the maximum HTT value is arround 1000 MHz (5x 200 MHz).
The good thing of the s939 CPUs is that all of them have AGP / PCI lock, what lets its frequencies unchanged during an overclock.
Take care with s754 CPUs, some of them doesnt have the lock feature and may demage your video cards.

Lets go:

1) I decided to reach arround 2 GHz, not a big deal...

>> Consider setting DDR to a lower value in BIOS if possible. Note that if DDR400 is set to 333 MHz, after an overclock of 20% it will be running again @ 400 MHz.

2) HTT frequency shouldnt be much higher than stock value, sometimes you may consider slowing it down to 800 MHz (4x).

OC1 Profile: Stable

Athlon64 3000+ (S939)
Speed: 1980 MHz
Core Speed: 220 MHz
HTT: 1100 MHz
DDR 400: @ 440 MHz (limit)
Multiplier: 9X

OC2 Profile: Stable

Athlon64 3000+ (S939)
Speed: 2160 MHz
Core Speed: 240 MHz
HTT: 960 MHz
DDR 400: @ 399,6 MHz
Multiplier: 9X

--------------------------------------------------

You may try to loose the RAM timings at core frequencies above 240 MHz, it may help a lot.

-------------------------------------------------------
To overclock on the fly try SetFSB or ClockGen
-------------------------------------------------------

vrosa.

Edited by vrosa x64, 11 December 2007 - 06:40 AM.


#7 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,788 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 17 July 2006 - 08:17 PM

thanks Vrosa, ill give it a try and report back :(

#8 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,246 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 17 July 2006 - 08:56 PM

:( my Opteron 165 dual core runs stock at 1800mhz (9x200) ,I run it at 2700mhz (9x300) my ram is running at 225mhz, prime stable :cowboy:

#9 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 17 July 2006 - 09:02 PM

View Poststormrosson, on Jul 17 2006, 01:56 PM, said:

:( my Opteron 165 dual core runs stock at 1800mhz (9x200) ,I run it at 2700mhz (9x300) my ram is running at 225mhz, prime stable :cowboy:
:( holy <edited> storm! :gutar:

#10 simon

simon

    simon says Post

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Location:Buffalo,New York, USA
  • Country:USA

Posted 18 July 2006 - 04:10 AM

cpu 262.0 mhz
memory 133 mhz
vga 102 MHZ
pci 33.3 MHZ
cpu 26.16 MHZ unclocked 18.00 mhz over all clocking 131%
ohh my temp is 42 c to 53 c

Edited by simon, 18 July 2006 - 07:33 PM.


#11 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 18 July 2006 - 08:00 AM

Excellent guide vrosa x64, thanks so much

#12 clarky3429

clarky3429

    No I will not fix your computer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Country:Australia

Posted 18 July 2006 - 10:31 AM

ive never tried to, im not up to taking the risk (as i couldnt afford to replace the parts)

#13 BlueScreenOfDeath

BlueScreenOfDeath

    ~* Hardware & Beta Guru *~

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 479 posts
  • Location:Little Rock, AR
  • Country:USA

Posted 18 July 2006 - 02:34 PM

View Postm.oreilly, on Jul 17 2006, 04:02 PM, said:

:( holy <edited> storm! :gutar:

I need your help then because i have the same cpu and running DDR400 ..ive done a lil modest oc to 2ghz ..but wanna hit where u hit

#14 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 18 July 2006 - 03:50 PM

Quote

my Opteron 165 dual core runs stock at 1800mhz (9x200) ,I run it at 2700mhz (9x300) my ram is running at 225mhz, prime stable

:( WOW

It is more than awesome, what kind of cooling are u using ?
You set your DDR400 to 3:2 mode (300 mhz) before overclock or you have DDR 450 to support 2*225 MHz ?

Congrats man, you got an excellent mark, but i wouldnt dare such thing :( !

#15 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,246 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 18 July 2006 - 04:45 PM

:( ok here goes guys, I use an XP-90 with a 92mm panaflo for cooling, I'm using a DFI NF4 LP D, that I hard modded to an sli ultra, my ram divider is at 150mhz, I use 4x512 mB Super Talent single bank PC3200 dimms at 2.7 v. 3-3-3-6-2t , my cpu is at 9x300mhz HTT and 1.5 vcc, my HT is at 3x or 900mhz, this gives my final clocks of 2700 mhz cpu, 225mhz ram speed, hope this helps :cool2:oh yeah my cpu idle temps are around 31c and 41-42 under load with both cores.

Edited by stormrosson, 18 July 2006 - 04:57 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users