Jump to content


- - - - -

20-line patch to Firefox 4 that makes startup


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 24 January 2011 - 01:00 AM

images/news/firefox.jpgIn the world of browser wars, speed is everything. All the top vendors love to show off how fast their browser is and why it is better than the competition. So, when a user comes up with a way to increase the cold boot time of a browser, it generally grabs the attention of many people.

Taras Glek, from bugzilla.mozilla.org, found a way to trick Windows into loading Firefox faster by using a simple patch.

Basic idea is that the sequential flag + bull**** read tricks windows into reading xul in Mb chunks instead of stupid 32k(or smaller) ones. Have to do it this way because there is no fadvise() on Windows(that I know of) A big sequential read cuts down on a lot of seeks.

Many users are reporting faster boot times, with load time cut by 50% on slower drives. If this work-around proves to work for the masses, it may be rolled out in the next version of Firefox. Currently, there are users looking to refine the process to make it even more efficient.

When trying out any experimental technique, you are cautioned to do so at your own risk. This patch has not been verified to work on all versions of Windows, but the general response so far has been very positive.

Reddit


#2 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 24 January 2011 - 03:30 AM

Interesting.

:eniparadoxgma:

#3 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 25 January 2011 - 03:51 AM

someone have a link to the patch?

#4 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 25 January 2011 - 02:25 PM

I couldnt find too. :eniparadoxgma:

I think that the code must be compiled, but I didn't try.

../toolkit/xre/nsWindowsWMain.cpp

Click here to see the section of the above file that must be changed to recompile




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users