Jump to content


Building a new system


  • Please log in to reply
189 replies to this topic

#151 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,174 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 31 December 2011 - 06:32 AM

Yes Mo. lol..

Pulling in that nice chilled Scottish air through my RAD helps :friends: :)

#152 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,674 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 02 January 2012 - 02:36 AM

haha!
rik, could you recommend some items for a WC setup, like a cpu waterbock and rad? i like the old swiftec pumps (the 655, is it, the chunky one with variable speeds?).
i've got an haf 912 case, and the i5, etc. maybe for the video card too? i dunno...

#153 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,174 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 02 January 2012 - 04:44 PM

Yup. Been using the MCP655 pump for years now, great flow and long lasting, although I've since incorporated it into the below drive bay RES

http://www.specialtech.co.uk/spshop/custom...-pid-11671.html

Cuts down on the loop and makes for a tidier setup :D

Best block for your GPU is this

http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/p/Watercoo...Inch_20201.html

or this

http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/p/Watercoo...Inch_20201.html

although this will do if you wanna save some cash

http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/p/Alphacoo...ries_20832.html

Go for a minimum 'triple' RAD setup, this being one of the best (I have mine mounted outside of case on 3 fan 'pull' config)

http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/p/Black-Ic...diator_154.html

CPU block, take your pick, but this is one I use, and runs very cool :friends:

http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/p/XSPC-Del...366AM3_633.html

Use 1/2" ID - 3/4" OD tubing with 1/2" fittings and Jubilee clips.

:)

#154 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,674 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 02 January 2012 - 05:50 PM

that cpu block and the rad were the exact ones i had in mind! thanks for the other suggestions rik!

#155 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,674 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 08 January 2012 - 12:53 AM

well, i think i'll stick with just the cpu for now, though these sandy bridges don't really get too hot. i'm almost thinking of getting some more powerful fans than i have, but water looks cool. thinking red or black tubing (rog system)...
:)
edit: red AND black! red for return, black for send!

:friends:

#156 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,174 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 08 January 2012 - 04:51 AM

View Postm.oreilly, on Jan 8 2012, 12:53 AM, said:

edit: red AND black! red for return, black for send!

:friends:

:D







:)

#157 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,674 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 08 January 2012 - 05:01 AM

how about white?


:)

#158 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,674 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 08 January 2012 - 05:08 AM

View Postscaramonga, on Jan 7 2012, 08:51 PM, said:

:D
:)

watch, at xs, someone will have done it, and everyone will love it!

:friends:

#159 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,674 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 January 2012 - 07:37 AM

ok, after wearing my fingers and my one last nerve out, i finally found an app to set my 2D speeds to match my 3D speeds 24/7:
Attached File  RacerX_v16.exe   96K   27 downloads
upon opening the app, you would first backup you existing clocks profile, then you set your desired clocks, and chose to 'create file'. a reg file is then created, and you then chose to apply the reg changes/reboot, and badda boom, tall idle clocks. i was having some odd issue, i.e., a video LOS at weird times. this seems to fix it. nvidia has a great option re this in the 'powermizer' app. just remember to bump up your fan speeds to cool the lot down.

#160 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,674 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 12 January 2012 - 04:10 AM

well, ati, at least the reference card i have, gets hot at stock 3d clock/running 2d, as opposed to nvidia, which really didn't break a sweat...i'll have to monkey with the .reg a bit.
rik, love your new avatar/sig guy! is he searching for delicious cake?

#161 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,174 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 12 January 2012 - 04:21 AM

View Postm.oreilly, on Jan 12 2012, 04:10 AM, said:

rik, love your new avatar/sig guy! is he searching for delicious cake?

Nah he's just trolling lol :friends: :)

#162 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,674 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 12 January 2012 - 06:01 AM

i have made a profession of it, not intended, of course, but maybe i should just use the vernacular, and say "i resemble that", 'cause i ain't got nothing :)

#163 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,234 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 13 January 2012 - 05:54 PM

:) That's not a secret Mo.... :friends:

#164 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,674 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 14 January 2012 - 04:31 AM

View Poststormrosson, on Jan 13 2012, 09:54 AM, said:

:) That's not a secret Mo.... :friends:
intel! intel! intel!
ok, i'll stop.

#165 bizketman101

bizketman101

    Advanced Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Country:United States

Posted 05 May 2012 - 07:36 PM

hello all! time for another upgrade! loved the 955be but its time for something new, and something that wont bottleneck my gpu's! after several long nights i've decided to switch to intel. I was thinking about grabbing the i5 2500K because i hear it is excellent for gaming and utilizing multiple gpu's. What's your opinions on it? I know it's older, and the ivy bridge was just released. what i need to upgrade is a new intel cpu and motherboard. i have no clue what a great motherboard would be. i have about $500ish or so to spend. let me know what you guys think :)

Biz

Current items that will go in this new rig:
2 x 6950
8gig 1600mhz ram
and misc harddrives and what not.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users