Jump to content


Building a new system


  • Please log in to reply
189 replies to this topic

#1 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,757 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 26 October 2009 - 01:10 AM

If you were to but together a system on a $600.00 budget and it had to be the best your money could buy what would you get? The system has to last me for at least 6 years. Things I need:

CPU - Quad core 64, leaning toward AMD phenom II, but would an Intel be better?
Cooling - Air
Motherboard
Graphics Card - ATI or nVidia?
4-gigs RAM
SATA Drive - probably a WD 1TB green = $89.00
Power supply
Case
Windows 7 - already have

be using it for gaming, CAD, Photoshop, divx ripping surfing

Thanks
Nvy

#2 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,174 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 26 October 2009 - 02:22 AM

CPU - Quad core 64, leaning toward AMD phenom II, but would an Intel be better? - YES
Cooling - Air - Air is good, water much better if your gonna clock it to ****.
Motherboard - Any X58 chipset will do.
Graphics Card - ATI or nVidia? - Nvidia (Waits for Storm to jump in lol)
4-gigs RAM - Triple based, so 6Gb will be a start.
SATA Drive - probably a WD 1TB green = $89.00 - That's fine, don't let MO convince you otherwise about SSD crap.
Power supply - 750W Corsair as they are just rock stable.
Case - Rectangle based with sides and a top/bottom, probably made out of metal if you can get one.
Windows 7 - already have - Good to go.


:scara:

#3 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,231 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 26 October 2009 - 02:26 AM

:scara: at least u got the last 3 rite Rikky :rofl_mini:

#4 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,174 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 26 October 2009 - 02:36 AM

View Poststormrosson, on Oct 26 2009, 02:26 AM, said:

:scara: at least u got the last 3 rite Rikky :giggle:

Yeah, your right Nu, but I was only wanting Dave to have a 'speedy' system. :rofl_mini:

#5 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,644 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 26 October 2009 - 03:04 AM

amd. ati (dx11 for $129 :rofl_mini: ). non asus board. 4gigs ocz ram, and your 1tb...should be a winner for less :scara:

#6 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,231 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 26 October 2009 - 03:24 AM

:scara: Phenom II AM3 955 Black Edition@ 3.2 GHz ....179$ free s/h at the egg :rofl_mini:

Edited by stormrosson, 26 October 2009 - 03:28 AM.


#7 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,757 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 26 October 2009 - 03:28 AM

View Postm.oreilly, on Oct 25 2009, 08:04 PM, said:

amd. ati (dx11 for $129 ;) ). non asus board. 4gigs ocz ram, and your 1tb...should be a winner for less :scara:

Got a link MO?


View Poststormrosson, on Oct 25 2009, 08:24 PM, said:

:rofl_mini: Phenom II 955 Black Edition@ 3.2 GHz ....189$ free s/h at the egg :giggle:

Thanks for the link Storm

Scara, what i7 is good for a budget?

#8 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,174 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 26 October 2009 - 03:48 AM

i5's are pretty damn good also Dave :scara:

If your gonna go i7, get the 920 C0 as all else is a complete waste of money :rofl_mini:

#9 Roadrunner

Roadrunner

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 670 posts
  • Location:Irvine, california
  • Country:USA

Posted 26 October 2009 - 04:10 AM

All good choices-

but.....

what type of system are you going for?

gaming rig
business
multimedia(HTPC)
workstation
a combination
something else

I have the same Hard Drive (1TB WD green) in my HTPC I just built- I like it because it runs quiet and cool and has tons of storage, but it does slow things down compaired to the Raptor I had in there before.

Also, the wattage of a CPU is more important than the speed in a HTPC.

In a gaming rig the Video would be the main concern- probably half your budget, but in a buisiness setup a MB with on-board graphics would suffice.

So, what exactly are your plans here?

#10 eniparadoxgma

eniparadoxgma

    Thomas S. Arashikage

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Country:USA

Posted 26 October 2009 - 06:58 AM

I want to chime in on the WD Green drive as well. I have a couple 1 TB of them for storage, but there is a bit of a noticeable lag when accessing them. I would scratch the Green and snag a Black instead.

#11 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,644 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 26 October 2009 - 02:46 PM

View PostNvyseal, on Oct 25 2009, 08:28 PM, said:

Got a link MO?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16814121351

#12 bizketman101

bizketman101

    Advanced Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Country:United States

Posted 26 October 2009 - 09:59 PM

the machine is actually for me, I was talking to Dave about this the other night. Thank you all for the help. I plan on using this for gaming, video converting, photoshop and cad. Thank you all for the advice!

#13 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,231 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 27 October 2009 - 12:22 AM

:scara: yo Biz you should disregard advice from Suckamonga, as he is applying for the chief c**ksucker gig at Intel.......so naturally he would choose interd :rofl_mini:

#14 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,644 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 27 October 2009 - 12:27 AM

:scara: oh, the language!

#15 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,231 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 27 October 2009 - 02:24 AM

:scara: just cause I got there first MOman hehehehe :storm:the nerve o that fake limey sayin AMD are **** chips....even if it was on skype :rofl_mini:

Edited by stormrosson, 27 October 2009 - 02:25 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users