Jump to content


A Quick Tour of Windows 7 M1


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
31 replies to this topic

#1 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,787 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 14 June 2008 - 04:25 AM

Well tonight i got a chance to install Windows 7 M1, and as the install goes, its very much like installing Vista. It takes just about the same time, installs in exactly the same manner, even asks what version of "Vista" you want to install. I skipped the entering of the activation key, even though i have it and its going through its install process as im writing this. Expanding the files do take some time, and the first splash screen when you insert the DVD seem to take forever.

While im installing, If any member is interested in getting the code for collecting or trying out, I'd be more than happy to hook you up, just PM me.

Install:

Attached Image: P1010054.JPG Attached Image: P1010055.JPG Attached Image: P1010056.JPG 0056.JPG]

Attached Image: P1010057.JPG Attached Image: P1010058.JPG Attached Image: P1010059.JPG 0059.JPG]

Attached Image: P1010060.JPG Attached Image: P1010062.JPG Attached Image: P1010063.JPG 0063.JPG]

Attached Image: P1010064.JPG


OS Screenshots:

Attached Image: 1Welcome.jpg Attached Image: 2Areo.jpg Attached Image: 3Computer.jpg er.jpg]

Attached Image: 4SysProp.jpg Attached Image: 5UAC.jpg Attached Image: 6DeviceMgr.jpg gr.jpg]

Attached Image: 7Services.jpg Attached Image: 9Desktop.jpg Attached Image: 10Services.jpg ervices.jpg]

Attached Image: 11Performance.jpg Attached Image: 12adtools.jpg

Attached Image: 13custlog.jpg Attached Image: CompMgnt.jpg

I have some time to play with this, so if anyone would like to see any particular screenies, please dont hesitate to ask

~nvy

#2 talker

talker

    Being a Priest is not always easy.

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 840 posts
  • Location:Huntville, AL, USA
  • Interests:Ah lets see...gee, I know...computers.
  • Country:USA

Posted 14 June 2008 - 04:30 AM

That looks like fun. I really wish I had the time to play...sigh. :g:

#3 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 14 June 2008 - 04:56 AM

I for one am HIGHLY Disappointed.

When it was at it's baby stages... Blackcomb sounded phenomenal , it was also suppose to be the first 64 bit ONLY os.

I see they've scrapped both. :g: Now, As windows 7, It just looks like Vista 2.0

I'm /depressed.

#4 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,787 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 14 June 2008 - 05:06 AM

View PostShadowFox, on Jun 13 2008, 09:56 PM, said:

I for one am HIGHLY Disappointed.

When it was at it's baby stages... Blackcomb sounded phenomenal , it was also suppose to be the first 64 bit ONLY os.

I see they've scrapped both. :g: Now, As windows 7, It just looks like Vista 2.0

I'm /depressed.
I totally agree with you, unless things change drastically, we just have a Vista Update

#5 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,766 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 14 June 2008 - 05:11 AM

a vista sp2, if you will. i assume it is just as drm bound as it's predecessor...?

#6 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,766 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 14 June 2008 - 05:14 AM

View PostNvyseal, on Jun 13 2008, 10:06 PM, said:

I totally agree with you, unless things change drastically, we just have a Vista Update
well heck, even though it is too early to have much icing on the cake, looks like i'll be sticking with server '08 x64 for quite some time...

#7 highlander

highlander

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Country:Puerto Rico

Posted 14 June 2008 - 06:09 AM

Wow.. what a bummer... incredible... I expected a lot more from the biggest software maker in the world.... Maybe if google does the OS we can get a real next generation, since they are so fond on competing with eachother.

#8 mzabu

mzabu

    New Member

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:SG
  • Country:Singapore

Posted 14 June 2008 - 06:18 AM

lets hope for the best

#9 MadDoggyca

MadDoggyca

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Country:Canada

Posted 14 June 2008 - 06:18 AM

a torrent would be nice

#10 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,766 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 14 June 2008 - 06:42 AM

View PostMadDoggyca, on Jun 13 2008, 11:18 PM, said:

a torrent would be nice

a torrent of what, member #666? :g:

#11 mzabu

mzabu

    New Member

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:SG
  • Country:Singapore

Posted 14 June 2008 - 07:25 AM

hi admin,

im not able to view any of the attachment saying "do not have permission"

why is like that

#12 supershailz

supershailz

    New Member

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Country:India

Posted 14 June 2008 - 07:33 AM

same here cant see the screenshots

#13 MadDoggyca

MadDoggyca

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Country:Canada

Posted 14 June 2008 - 07:41 AM

View Postm.oreilly, on Jun 13 2008, 11:42 PM, said:

a torrent of what, member #666? :g:

ME) Why dose ever one hate me
Them ) I don;t know why that is?
Me) is it becuz I'm the son of the devil
Them) Hmm Thats a good start what eles?

Edited by MadDoggyca, 14 June 2008 - 07:41 AM.


#14 RJsPC

RJsPC

    Sponge Bob Guru Pants

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Location:Santa Cruz CA
  • Country:USA

Posted 14 June 2008 - 08:24 AM

View Postmzabu, on Jun 14 2008, 12:25 AM, said:

hi admin,

im not able to view any of the attachment saying "do not have permission"

why is like that


View Postsupershailz, on Jun 14 2008, 12:33 AM, said:

same here cant see the screenshots

You could try clearing your browsers cache, and cookies
I don't recall any post minimums or anything like that, I think you should be able to see the images :g:


I am also disappointed in W7, though I do like that its using less memory
Nvy, no 64bit eh, what kernel is it using?

#15 talker

talker

    Being a Priest is not always easy.

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 840 posts
  • Location:Huntville, AL, USA
  • Interests:Ah lets see...gee, I know...computers.
  • Country:USA

Posted 14 June 2008 - 12:17 PM

Lets see, there is a word that begins with "I" that Redmond has been floating around for years. Gee, what was that word...Hmm, let me try to remember....Ah yes..."INNOVATION". Lets look at some definitions...

A definition as the world sees it: The creation or introduction of something new, especially a new product or a new way of producing something.

A definition as Redmond sees it: Repeat, copy, refresh an idea, practice, or object so that it is perceived as new to an individual or another unit of adoption.

Edited by talker, 14 June 2008 - 12:21 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users