Jump to content


svchost.exe_SysMain ---- Vista or Other Issue??


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 DavARei

DavARei

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Interests:Computers ... and <br />Nope. Just Computers ...
  • Country:USA

Posted 03 April 2007 - 03:25 PM

Yesterday, I noticed my net connection shut down and restarted itself??
A couple other items were running funny so I ran Avast and found '1 infected file' for:
setup[1].exe.vir .... Win32:Adware-gen.[Adw]

I'm assuming its a spyware sort of crap thing and I canned it :ranting:
But I'm wondering, would that be the cause for my svchost.exe_SysMain issue?
Or is that a Vista problem?

I googled it and only got 2 hits / 1 in English ... a forum thread that someone mentioned they had been hit with a lot ... but no one solved it.?.?

Anyone else have the 'svchost.exe_SysMain' issues?
AND anyone have the fix?

#2 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,731 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 03 April 2007 - 07:07 PM

what is the issue? what is the system vista installed on? issues i am hearing are drivers and or bios... :talker:

#3 DavARei

DavARei

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Interests:Computers ... and <br />Nope. Just Computers ...
  • Country:USA

Posted 03 April 2007 - 09:41 PM

Vista Home Prem.
A8N32-SLi w/ single 8800GTX
FX60 and 4 X 512 Corsair 3500LLPro
2 X 2 RAID 0 (1 for OS / 1 for gaming)
750w OCZ Gamer PSU ...


The latest issue was ie7 shut down w/ message saying 'lost network' and restarting on it's own.
The 'acting funny' is mostly super lag time loading on occasion. Occasional lag times loading the sidebar.

Medieval II plays great on 4 of 5 profiles. On the 5th, it doesn't have the 'Play' option ...
..... I'm likely to do a clean install on my next system / but that will be June/July'ish.

Items in Event Viewer:
several ID 49 = Configuring the Page file for crash dump failed. Make sure there is a page file on the boot partition and that is large enough to contain all physical memory.

at least one 7026 = The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
i8042prt

a lot of 7031 = The Windows Driver Foundation - User-mode Driver Framework service terminated unexpectedly. It has done this 1 time(s). The following corrective action will be taken in 120000 milliseconds: Restart the service.

.... and some others.
Could this be because of the ReadyBoost? The other day, the USB drive just went MIA.
Or, could this be due to my cutting the virtual mem on the 'C' drive to 1000 MB. I had it at 100 MB when I first had the ID 49 error, but kicked it back up higher.
* I do have a 4 GB Virtual Mem on the 'N' (RAID) drive ...

AND - I was also thinking that due to some of the Oblivion errors (Win32.dll on occasion) that there was a tie in with an attempted system dump.
??

Edited by DavARei, 03 April 2007 - 10:05 PM.


#4 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,731 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 03 April 2007 - 11:10 PM

was this an upgrade? if so:
http://searchwincomputing.techtarget.com/t...1246895,00.html

an upgrade would explain several of the issues, but if not...have you checked the asus site for any bios fixes? oh, and if you have been updating windows, did you install the one titled "nvidia-system- nForce4 pci-express root"? i had some minor issues with it, and ended up uninstalling it. did you install any mouse/keyboard drivers?

#5 DavARei

DavARei

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Interests:Computers ... and <br />Nope. Just Computers ...
  • Country:USA

Posted 03 April 2007 - 11:37 PM

I did install as an upgrade.
I should have done a clean format (usually do) but was slacking that day.

Haven't seen the nvidia-system- nForce4 pci-express root. Was that in a M$ download? or nVidia? I don't always look at the M$ updates ... :scara: and allow them to run :o

and no mouse or keyboard.

Maybe I should format and do a clean install. There's a couple things I was looking to move around anyway.
Maybe load Vista on the single drive running on the Sil chip ... and have the games loaded onto a 4 drive RAID 0 :hi:
But that would be after my $19.95 copy of Office 2007 gets here. :talker:

First, I'll check out that link.
Thanks, :storm:

------ There is a new BIOS beta (1405) just hit the streets a week ago.

Edited by DavARei, 03 April 2007 - 11:38 PM.


#6 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,731 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 03 April 2007 - 11:44 PM

yep, that be an MS update, so if you haven't, and you are going to reinstall, you might just install it (update) and see if it does anything. i really would recommend a clean install. several of us have tried the upgrade path, and some have had issues.

#7 DavARei

DavARei

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Interests:Computers ... and <br />Nope. Just Computers ...
  • Country:USA

Posted 03 April 2007 - 11:44 PM

The i8042 driver issue does look familar, but my keyboard is USB.
Guess it wouldn't hurt to make the change in the reg though.
I wounder if I disabled it in the BIOS too.

** and as a side note, the lag issues just started about a week or two ago. I've had Vista running since early Feb.

At any rate, thanks for pointing me toward a couple potential options.
I'm going to pull the USB ReadyBoost drive for a couple days too, just to see if I still get some of those paging file issues.

:talker: thanks again

#8 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 04 April 2007 - 04:39 PM

Good luck Davarei ! :talker:

#9 DavARei

DavARei

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Interests:Computers ... and <br />Nope. Just Computers ...
  • Country:USA

Posted 04 April 2007 - 07:50 PM

Every time she boots:
'The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
i8042prt'

And I don't use the keyboard or mouse plug.
Both are USB.

Guess it's a sign to wipe 'er clean!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users