Jump to content


A Quick tour of Vista 5536


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,759 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 27 August 2006 - 08:48 PM

Generally i'll sit down and write a review within an hour of installing a new build. Since this is a pre-RC1 build, I decided it might be better to "evaluate" this build for a few days, and really get to know it. I'm glad i did.

Unlike previous builds, this build is worthy of being called production material, meaning, you can run it as a daily OS. It is very stable, I have had no crashes, it just works! Unlike previous builds, it is FAST! booting is only 29 seconds from the push of the power button to the login screen. IE7 is very stable, and those annoying POP-UP's about sites are unsafe even though you know them not to be are gone. IE7 is also very fast, Faster than Firefox!

With that said, there are a few annoying things that i think should be fixed, like being able to delete your recycle bin. Under XP, you can't do this, but for some reason, MS thinks its a good idea. By accident, i had delete in mind when i wanted to "Empty" my bin and lost it altogether, but you can bring it back under your personalization settings. Networking has gotten a lot easier, but sill is odd, I guess because i'm so used to XP.

Upon Inserting my freshly burned ISO and booting from it, the install took only 15 minutes on a fresh partition until i reached my first reboot, completing the install took another 20 minutes until i reached the "choose user name" screen. My time, Keyboaed layout etc were all correct, thanks to living in the same timezone MS is in.

On into the Performance check Vista 5536 went, with some suprizing results. In previous builds, i was only able to score a 3-3.5. This build rated me a "4" w00t! . I was greeted with a welcome center with all my necessary information along with my computer details. Also included was a lot of Microsoft offers like Windows Live, Live Toolbar, Live Messenger, Live Mail etc.

After setting up the network, i logged onto IE7 and looked in the live search section,, and low and behold, there was google listed as one of my search options. I am truly happy MS has given us a choice for our search engines.

I still noticed Turning off Vista still puts it in a sleep or Hibernation mode, but that is easily changed using my guide on the power button.

As for the dirvers needed, i still had to install my ATI Beta drivers, and also my Audigy 2 beta drivers, but other than that, i was set to go "right out of the box"

I am really liking the whole look of this Operating System, everything is polished and clean from games, paint, media player, photo gallery. Everyone is doing their job at MS, except the MCE team. Booting into MCE is horrid. It seems like its only half complete, like looking at a model home without furniture. It works, but only half-way watching the meir-cats flick, i could see a screen behind what was playing. Watching programs required plug-ins that wouldn't install like Java and Flash.

Well onto the screenshots, With this build 5 out of 5, i give this build a 5 in my book, overlooking MCE. Hopefully they will get their act together.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Attached Image: PerfCheck1.jpg
  • Attached Image: AtFirstBoot2.jpg
  • Attached Image: Performance3.jpg
  • Attached Image: IE74.jpg
  • Attached Image: IE75.jpg
  • Attached Image: PowerButton6.jpg
  • Attached Image: Vista_Diskspace7.jpg
  • Attached Image: ATI8.jpg
  • Attached Image: ATI_comp9.jpg
  • Attached Image: Audigy10.jpg
  • Attached Image: Audigy11.jpg
  • Attached Image: audigy12.jpg
  • Attached Image: DriverInst13.jpg
  • Attached Image: DevTask14.jpg
  • Attached Image: WGA_suc15.jpg
  • Attached Image: Gadgets16.jpg
  • Attached Image: CPU16.jpg


#2 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 27 August 2006 - 08:55 PM

Wow, fantastic review thank you Dave and lots of pics. It looks like Vista is finally coming together.

#3 nitram

nitram

    NITRISCO

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Nottingham England
  • Country:England

Posted 27 August 2006 - 09:02 PM

All my drivers installed and i was ready to go in 28.46mins. Im haveing a little problem with av software though. When trying to install avast vista tells me that there is a driver problem :rofl:
Not sure what thats all about but anyway i managed to get Etrust internet security suite installed. No other problems so far. Running like a dream.

#4 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,647 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 27 August 2006 - 09:22 PM

that's great nitram, and it looks like mem usasge is down with this release also :rofl: it is running so smooth, i forgot i was using a vista beta :rofl:

#5 nitram

nitram

    NITRISCO

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:Nottingham England
  • Country:England

Posted 27 August 2006 - 09:41 PM

Get Etrust anti virus for vista beta users Here

#6 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 27 August 2006 - 09:49 PM

Well, after some problems with it not liking my serial ata drives I finally got this working! I am actually using it as I type this! This is my first time seeing Vista and it is very nice. I agree, the networking portion is a real pain and took me forever to find where I put in my ip and all that. Other than that, first impressions are very good!!

#7 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,759 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 27 August 2006 - 10:25 PM

View Postchriso_86, on Aug 27 2006, 02:49 PM, said:

Well, after some problems with it not liking my serial ata drives I finally got this working! I am actually using it as I type this! This is my first time seeing Vista and it is very nice. I agree, the networking portion is a real pain and took me forever to find where I put in my ip and all that. Other than that, first impressions are very good!!
Hey chris, glad to see you got it running! :rofl: Please give us your experience

#8 hi2u

hi2u

    New Member

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Country:USA

Posted 30 August 2006 - 03:12 AM

Since this isnt publically available...if I get this off of a torrent once I get home later this week...will I be able to install and activate with my Beta 2 cd key? (Customer preview program).

I lost my beta 2 iso in a format and it cant be downloaded now (and I guess I never thought of torrents then LOL).

If the cd key wont work with this version, then how long do you guys think until RC1? MS said its customer preview program people could download RC1 when it came out.

And tbh I want a copy of vista again and im kinda stuck without one :rofl: (And i want to be able to activate which is why I want to use my cd key and not the one supplied with the torrent)


Thanks for any help!!

#9 Scuba

Scuba

    I see you!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Country:usa

Posted 30 August 2006 - 03:16 AM

Im glad to see all of you are up and running so smooth, i wasnt sure about running it but since all of you seem to have no trouble i think ill go ahead and load it myself.

#10 clarky3429

clarky3429

    No I will not fix your computer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Country:Australia

Posted 31 August 2006 - 08:43 AM

lots of transparency there :S hope its not too hard on the lower end systems!!

#11 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 31 August 2006 - 03:48 PM

View Postclarky3429, on Aug 31 2006, 03:43 AM, said:

lots of transparency there :S hope its not too hard on the lower end systems!!

I think that is part of the Aero Glass, and I believe the os detects what your system can handle and adjusts acordingly.

#12 GSG-9

GSG-9

    Kicking

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 392 posts
  • Location:Wisconsion
  • Interests:Computers,<br />Drums/Sleeping,<br />Work (I guess?).<br />(In that order)
  • Country:United States

Posted 03 September 2006 - 05:08 AM

View Postchriso_86, on Aug 31 2006, 10:48 AM, said:

I think that is part of the Aero Glass, and I believe the os detects what your system can handle and adjusts acordingly.


Turned it off on me :lol:

2gigs of ram
7800GT
3000+ @ 2.4Ghz
its not grate but it should have ran with it on by default...(This was the first Beta, I have not redownloaded it yet, 5Gigs is a lot of OS to download more than once.)

Edited by GSG-9, 03 September 2006 - 05:10 AM.


#13 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,759 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 03 September 2006 - 05:23 AM

View PostGSG-9, on Sep 2 2006, 10:08 PM, said:

Turned it off on me :lol:

2gigs of ram
7800GT
3000+ @ 2.4Ghz
its not grate but it should have ran with it on by default...(This was the first Beta, I have not redownloaded it yet, 5Gigs is a lot of OS to download more than once.)
Hey GSG-9, you should give RC1 a try, i think you would like it. Very quick and much more compatible :lol:

#14 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,647 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 03 September 2006 - 05:30 AM

View PostNvyseal, on Sep 2 2006, 10:23 PM, said:

Hey GSG-9, you should give RC1 a try, i think you would like it. Very quick and much more compatible :lol:
:lol:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users