Jump to content


Not the Red Rings of Death but still...


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 hog

hog

    official linguist

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,302 posts
  • Location:Montreal area, QC
  • Country:Canada

Posted 14 January 2008 - 01:04 AM

:moreilly: :mooning: :mooning: :mooning: :mooning:

Yes, my beloved Xbox 360 seems to be ready for a little trip to the Microsoft warehouse...shop...place, you know, whatever they call it.

I was so crazy that I got Mass Effect for Christmas! Couldn't wait to play it. Start the game, freezes twice during character creation... Finally I'm able to start and play for some 20-30 minutes and when I think everything's fine it freezes again. Going back to EB games to exchange the disc. Start playing again. Freezes once, than no problem for several hours of play. Meanwhile, I played Forza 2 and Halo 3 without having any problem at all. A couple of days later, freezes again. Okay, one more try, I go back to EB games. Once more, no questions asked, the guy gives me a new one. Can't play for more than 5 minutes.

CHU EN TABARNAK, like we say in Quebec french :huh: You understand I cannot translate it without being censored lol... Let's say I'm pissed, but really really pissed :wacko:

Okay, a little googling teaches me it seems I'm not the only one. Hopefully a patch will come out soon. Also, my Xbox 360 is a newer one with HDMI so that may be why I'm having issues but not my friends who have an older one. So up to then, I'm thinking "okay, I'll have to wait but it's okay, my other games work fine."

Not anymore.

I played a lot of Forza 2 with no problem. My brother played some Halo 3, everything's fine. Getting tired of cars, I decided I should try to finish my CoD4 campaign at Veteran difficulty. So I load the game, start playing and 5 minutes later, BANG! freeze. I almost poopooed (I was about to type the S word) in my pants. Restart and same thing happens even faster. Reboot again, this time it freezes it the Xbox 360 interface.

No choice but to contact Microsoft it seems...


For the record, my console is standing on top of a table so it's not a heat issue (the power brick is also in open air). Also tried the console vertically and horizontally.


Gonna migrate to the PC and play more WoW and probably some Crysis to use that overpriced video card of mine. Maybe I could finish that FFXII game too...




BTW, did I say I'm kinda angry?

#2 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,821 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 14 January 2008 - 01:17 AM

FYI, there are a lot of unhappy campers within the past couple of months. seems their xboxes are going out or they are getting RRoD's, having to send their box into xbox, most are really upset they have to have another account

#3 hog

hog

    official linguist

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,302 posts
  • Location:Montreal area, QC
  • Country:Canada

Posted 14 January 2008 - 01:24 AM

View PostNvyseal, on Jan 13 2008, 08:17 PM, said:

FYI, there are a lot of unhappy campers within the past couple of months. seems their xboxes are going out or they are getting RRoD's, having to send their box into xbox, most are really upset they have to have another account
I dunno, maybe I'll be able to keep my HDD or make a backup of it on a memory card (which I would have to buy). I mean, I'd lose all saved games, everything. That sucks even more than simply losing my console for a month.

#4 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 14 January 2008 - 01:45 AM

with exactly the same games and most closely the same console, my homemate hasn't encountered any problems...!

#5 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 14 January 2008 - 04:47 AM

Yup, I had the same problem with mine. My xbox 360 came from the first batch when they came out. I have ran it a lot in the past two years or so since I had it with zero problems. I also bought Mass Effect after christmas. I played it for about five min. as well and during the first set of cinematics the thing locked up. I have gotten a lot further in the game since but have also had it lock up a lot since then. Then finally my xbox had enough, it locked up and the next time I turned it back on I got the three light ring of death. My system was out of warranty but MS extended the warranty on that specific error so they are gonna fix it or send me a new one. I shipped it off yesterday. However, I didn't want to wait the stinking five weeks for them to get it done. So, I went and bought a new xbox 360 elite. After all my other HD was almost full so having the 120 gb hard drive makes me happy and also having the hdmi port is great as well for my HDTV. So, I'll sell the other one on ebay when it comes back fixed. Yeah, I think Mass Effect has some serious problems and I am not going to play it anymore until they patch the darn thing!! I urge everyone to wait as well, even though it is very hard since it is such a super fun game!!

#6 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,850 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 14 January 2008 - 05:12 AM

now i'm glad i didn't get my daughter one of these (she loves halo). sorry to here you guys having probs :moreilly:

#7 banj0

banj0

    American Idle

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,537 posts
  • Location:Detroit
  • Country:States

Posted 14 January 2008 - 06:07 AM

I saw a similar problem with an Xbox in just the past hour. I went to a friend's house to play some Madden and I got to see the RRoD first hand. After the game initially tried to load and froze he restarted it and kept getting the RRoD for about 10 minutes. For whatever reason, after we left the thing to sit powered down for about half an hour, it booted right up and we were able to play without worry for a couple hours.

I'm not real familiar with the RRoD---is it usually a permanent thing or does it go away like I saw tonight?

Anyway, sorry to hear about the trouble hog, g'luck. :moreilly:

#8 eniparadoxgma

eniparadoxgma

    Thomas S. Arashikage

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Country:USA

Posted 14 January 2008 - 08:39 AM

LMAO, just skimming the first couple posts a few hours ago I thought "Red Rings of Death" was some new kickass Xbox game.

:moreilly:

#9 hog

hog

    official linguist

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,302 posts
  • Location:Montreal area, QC
  • Country:Canada

Posted 14 January 2008 - 03:28 PM

lol @ eni :moreilly:

well banj0, it's not the first time I hear someone gets a RRoD and after resting he's able to play again. It will probably happen again soon and your friend won't be able to play at all.

On my side, I tried it again and it froze in the Xbox Interface... Restarted and got 1 red light instead of 3 with a "Service needed" message. It's another known issue, not as dramatic as the 3 lights I think, but still. I was able to play Forza some some time and it didn't freeze.

I'm kinda happy I'm not the only one right now (I thought those problems were over), but man chriso you realy want that elite! Anyhow, like I said I have the HDMI port on mine :mooning: Even though I don't use it lol. I have 720p (my TV's maximum resolution) with component cables so I'm happy with that. I use the bundled HDMI cable for connecting my digital cable receiver.

#10 TheBearLT

TheBearLT

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 781 posts
  • Country:Lithuania

Posted 14 January 2008 - 06:22 PM

After sooo many Years XboX still sucking..
Microsoft is definitely Rip-Offers :moreilly: no doubt.

#11 hog

hog

    official linguist

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,302 posts
  • Location:Montreal area, QC
  • Country:Canada

Posted 15 January 2008 - 01:28 AM

View PostTheBearLT, on Jan 14 2008, 01:22 PM, said:

After sooo many Years XboX still sucking..
Microsoft is definitely Rip-Offers :moreilly: no doubt.
Well, they extended the warranty to 3 years and they replace it at no cost so it's not that bad. And they give you a free month of Xbox Live to compensate for the time you didn't have your console.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users