Jump to content


Windows and Piracy


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 27 April 2006 - 02:49 AM

A recent update from ms for XP also included a file that without your intervention scanned to see if your XP was legal.

what are your thoughts?

me, i'm not shocked plus i never use auto update.

#2 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,788 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 27 April 2006 - 03:58 AM

Firstly, I dont use auto update or one care. Most IT admins dont either. Applying patches YOU pick and choose from is the way to go.

Now as for the windows genuine, i dont like it. I am running a legit version of windows, but lets look at it from a consumer stand point. I have been burned so many times from a company renigging on a contract or a store refusing me a refund or exchange because i didnt have a receipt or it was out of their hands because it was a manufacturers defect. now...

What if:

Microsoft gets hacked and all the genuine windows turns off?

Someone figures out how to make a virus to turn off Windows Genuine advantage?

Someone figures out how to redirect you to a bogus "live update" site

Someone steals your Key

A computer company installs XP on your system that you paid for, and WGA says its invalid, so you go to that company and they are out of business

Microsoft decides not to support that OS anymore

Micorsoft gets mad at the world and calls it quits

Now what will you do??

#3 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 27 April 2006 - 10:13 AM

View PostNvyseal, on Apr 27 2006, 05:58 AM, said:

Now what will you do??
Switch to Linux? :headset:

But I agree with this point of Microsoft. They put a lot of effort in developping software, and then sell that software. I think their prices are a little high, but they have the right don't they?

Now someone copies it, and uses it without paying. It's just logic to try and prevent this from happening.

btw. It's not 'piracy' it's 'AAARRRGGHHiving'

#4 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 April 2006 - 01:19 PM

how about you just get a legit version of Windo...... NVM ROFL who does that :headset: It's not worth what they charge... lets start a revolution lets ALL go to linux.

#5 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 27 April 2006 - 01:21 PM

Now you're talking! If anyone needs help... PM me! NO MORE WINDOWS! :headset:

#6 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 April 2006 - 01:37 PM

ROFL.... lets talk to lino about this :headset:

#7 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 27 April 2006 - 03:01 PM

fortunately with the bits that get Windows XP, they are add-ons you can find and edit (dont ask who but i know a couple of folks working on that now lol)

with vista it'll be integrated...should be interesting. thing is with my WPA activation tool that i use, my pc thinks its safemode when you login (doesn't look any different just pc thinks its safemode) so anything like this should leave me WELL alone :headset:

#8 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 April 2006 - 03:14 PM

LOL you're in hiding :headset:




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users