Jump to content


Switches


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#31 Visentinel

Visentinel

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Location:NSW Australia

Posted 24 October 2005 - 06:50 AM

A router with built in 4 port switch and an 8 port switch.

#32 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 24 October 2005 - 10:01 AM

Cool i have a switch here at the min and at home i have a Router but i am using a patch cable right now :)

#33 RedInferno

RedInferno

    Your mom

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,584 posts
  • Location:What's it to ya, bub?
  • Country:North America

Posted 26 October 2005 - 05:57 PM

A router, but there's really no point..no high speed, and the computers are in the same room..

#34 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 October 2005 - 03:54 AM

lol... it all comes in handy sooner or later.

#35 wolft

wolft

    Member

  • New Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Country:Germany

Posted 27 October 2005 - 10:20 AM

KW13,

tell us mor about your computers: how many, what typ wireless, 100/1000 ethernet, dsl or what (?) ...

To go online via dsl it's better to get a router (with or without a modem) do you have a seperate dsl modem/splitter?

If not try a router with modem

the new linksys routers ar very good! I myself have an old draytek 2200x router with switch (4) and an soho 5 port switch because we have a house and the router is in the basement (cellar) and I live in the 1st floor.

Draytek router are very stable with firewall built in.

Tell me more about your konfiguration and I tell you what router/switch you need.

regards

wolft

PS.: you can also configure an old pc as an linux router but you must by a switch

Edited by wolft, 27 October 2005 - 10:21 AM.


#36 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 27 October 2005 - 01:31 PM

Well i got three setup at this minute, an AMD Duron 1.2Ghz downstairs with 512mb ram sharing the printer and the internet through a switch with the two up stairs.

IBM Netvista 500MHz with 256mb ram and my AMD Venice 3200+ with 1GB ram.

Like i say these are all connected via a switch.

Also NOT on the LAN at the minute i have my 200MHz with 64mb (simms:P)

Upstairs in the loft i have 4 half pc's, they need cases...

600MHz with 3 sdram slots/x2 PII 300MHz and also a Celeron 300Mhz...all these have three sdram slots.

Plan is to get all these on a lan :P

But come next year i will have some new pc's i think as well to replace the older ones.

#37 RedInferno

RedInferno

    Your mom

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,584 posts
  • Location:What's it to ya, bub?
  • Country:North America

Posted 27 October 2005 - 03:46 PM

LOL, half pcs?

#38 Neon

Neon

    Karl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,728 posts
  • Country:Space

Posted 27 October 2005 - 04:33 PM

YES...amazing things, a rare breed...

#39 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 27 October 2005 - 04:51 PM

you know what I'd like to have... a supercomputer... in my living room :D

no no wait, a super computer that IS my living room :P

#40 patman174

patman174

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 217 posts

Posted 28 October 2005 - 02:07 AM

I use a wireless router with 3 switches coming off of it to complete my huge network LOL.

#41 RedInferno

RedInferno

    Your mom

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,584 posts
  • Location:What's it to ya, bub?
  • Country:North America

Posted 28 October 2005 - 04:10 PM

View PostKW13, on Oct 27 2005, 11:33 AM, said:

YES...amazing things, a rare breed...
Karl, try running it without a case...see how it goes... :D




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users