Eni's CPU poll

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

Poll: Which CPU should I go for?

Which CPU should I go for?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 eniparadoxgma

eniparadoxgma

Thomas S. Arashikage

• Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts

Posted 19 October 2007 - 08:41 PM

So, I'm a broke college student/parent that won't be upgrading to another socket for the next year or two. Right now I have a socket 939 Opty 148 (2.2 1mb L2) single core @ 2.8.

I'm thinking of upgrading to a dual core 939 to tide me over until I get the moolah together for a whole mobo/cpu/RAM upgrade. I'm debating getting a x2 4200 Toledo or Manchester (2.2 512k L2) @ 70 bucks or a Opty 175 (2.2 1mb L2) @ 155 bucks. Would there be THAT big of a difference between the two, or even between my single core and one of the two? I game a lot but I also multi-task a bit as well.

Keep in mind that I will be OC'ing and trying to get whatever I get to 2.8 to keep my RAM around DDR500ish (it's DDR512 right now).

If you choose the third option I'd appreciate input as to what alternative you have in mind.

Thanks.

#2 Camaro

Camaro

Established Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 907 posts

Posted 19 October 2007 - 08:49 PM

I chose the opty, an I think you should send me one too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol
I think you like myself could use the bigger cache on the opty

#3 banj0

banj0

American Idle

• Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,537 posts

Posted 19 October 2007 - 08:50 PM

I say grab the Toledo. Save the $85. Maybe put the saved cash, along with somethin' else, toward an X2900 or 8800.

#4 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

rog'er wilco

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,847 posts

Posted 19 October 2007 - 09:11 PM