Jump to content


What a Q6600 can actually do!!!


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 26 July 2007 - 09:23 PM

Well, my new Intel Q6600 quad core came today!!! So, after installing it I decided to give her a bit of a whirl!! Here is my first impressions:

I started out by running a ton of programs just to see what I could actually do!

Here is my list of stuff I ran:

iTunes (streaming music across the network from my musicserver)
Windows Media Player (running a dvd)
Skype
MSN Messenger
AIM
Folding@home (on one core only)
speedfan to monitor temps
cpu-z
Avast (doing a full system scan)
DVDFab HD Decrypter (backing up a personal dvd)
Remote Desktop (accessing my domain and file server)
World of Warcraft (logged in and playing)

If you don't believe me here is a screenshot of all this going on!

Attached Image: Quad_Core___.jpg

I never saw a single core hit 100%!! Truely amazing!! System was still completely responsive during all of this. :P

I also ran a Futuremark 3dMark 06 run in Vista but don't have another Vista score to compare it to. I'll do a run in XP later. However, I can tell you that my old score with the same system but a dual core E6600 in XP was 9277. While my score in Vista with my Q6600 was 9844. ;)

The only thing I'm a little sad about is my temps are terribly great right now. The first time I put it in I had each core running around 52 which is bad on idle. So, after some research I found out that a Quad Core actually has a different method for applying AS5. So, I took it back off and put the AS5 on in the proper way stated on Artic Silver's website. This took me down to about 37 on idle and during the 3dMark run they maxed out at around 60. There is still more to be desired in my temps I know. I read some other forums and found out that a lot of people are having problems with the mounting bracket that holds the cpu down on the board being slightly warped and therefore causing the hsf to not fully hit the processor everywhere. They suggested taking it off and trying without it to see if it makes a difference. I also might try that thermal compound that MO had suggested to me awhile back (what was that again MO???). Finally, I might try lapping my water block to see if that helps. However, most people say if you lap the block you should also do the processor which I don't want to do for warranty reasons. If anyone has any other suggestions please let me know!!

Other then those few little problems it is running very very well!!! Great great great performance for the price! :talker:

#2 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 26 July 2007 - 09:29 PM

sounds great chris :P
here's the stuff:

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/3784/thr...l?tl=g8c127s451

#3 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 26 July 2007 - 10:00 PM

You really think it is better then AS5 MO?

#4 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 26 July 2007 - 10:55 PM

View Postchriso_86, on Jul 26 2007, 03:00 PM, said:

You really think it is better then AS5 MO?
yep :P

#5 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,788 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 26 July 2007 - 11:06 PM

Sweet, Looking good!! :P

#6 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 27 July 2007 - 12:13 AM

That's great Chriso ! I am glad you're happy with your new toy ! Congrats buddy :P

Quote

I can tell you that my old score with the same system but a dual core E6600 in XP was 9277. While my score in Vista with my Q6600 was 9844.

Imagine what you will get after an overclock ! ;)

#7 Roadrunner

Roadrunner

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Location:Irvine, california
  • Country:USA

Posted 27 July 2007 - 02:10 AM

:) :victory: :victory: :victory: :victory:

Way to go !!!

#8 WFO

WFO

    Super Adv. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Country:USA

Posted 24 August 2007 - 06:03 PM

What you described above sounds normal for temps with the B3 stepping quads. In the folding thread, you made it sound much worse. Yesterday the ambient was about 85F and one of my quads folding 100% was 55C on the lowest core and 60C on the hottest. This is on water with a Swiftech 240mm rad and Storm water block. Lapping was going to be my next step with this proc. I'll be removing it this weekend and replacing it with a G0 stepper. If that doesn't give me low enough temps for some OCing, I'll replace the rad with this one...

http://www.dangerden.com/store/product.php...t=90&page=1

I'd also recommend some reading at xtremesystems, particularly the Q6600 OCing threads. Most of those guys are benchers. Many look for stable 24/7 clocks too. Check some the temps they are pushing and maybe you won't feel as bad.

http://www.xtremesys...isplay.php?f=59

They are getting much lower temps from higher clocks with the G0s.

Both my B3s will probably end up running stock speeds on air. :cheers:

Current temps @84F on water as above. 2.4 stock

Core 1 60C
Core 2 59C
Core 3 56 C
Core 4 56C

Edited by WFO, 25 August 2007 - 01:30 AM.


#9 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 02 December 2007 - 11:29 PM

Well, Christmas is arriving and i feel its my time to get a quad :lust: I will go for a good and cheap Q6600.
Maybe next week i already have my new toy in hands ! Cant wait :cheers:

#10 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 06 December 2007 - 01:30 AM

My Q6600 is confirmed for tuesday ! I'm excited :likewinmandr2:

#11 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 06 December 2007 - 01:44 AM

View Postvrosa x64, on Dec 5 2007, 05:30 PM, said:

My Q6600 is confirmed for tuesday ! I'm excited :cc_surrender:

alright vlad :likewinmandr2:

#12 Guest_scaramonga_*

Guest_scaramonga_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 December 2007 - 01:54 AM

Quote

My Q6600 is confirmed for tuesday ! I'm excited

You should be :likewinmandr2: Hope you were sensible enough to get the 'SLACR G0' edition :cc_surrender:

#13 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 11 December 2007 - 03:34 AM

Yes, it's the Q6600 SLACR G0 !

Wow... that's an awesome chip... everything is incredibly faster... :RJsPC:
Now Vista is running fast like XP ! ;)

Attached Image: q6600_8800GTS_3DMARK.jpg

3D Mark Score: 10455 (with CPU @ stock speed - 2,4 GHz)

Vista CPU score: 6,0

Will try ~ 3 GHz now.

:)

#14 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,771 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 December 2007 - 04:02 AM

well heck, i guess i gotta get me some quad action too :RJsPC: have fun vlad ;)

#15 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 11 December 2007 - 04:17 AM

CPU: Q6600 @ 3,00 GHz (~ 45 on load)
GPU: 8800GTS @ 650 / 1782 MHz (~70 on load)
DDR2: 835 MHz (5-6-6-17)

3DMark: 10759

Attached Image: q6600_8800GTS_3DMARK.jpg

:RJsPC:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users