Jump to content


AMD Phenom II x6 temps


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 VoodooGuru

VoodooGuru

    When I get a chance, I get up and dance and do the Curly shuffle

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Location:Fort Atkinson, WI
  • Country:USA

Posted 18 August 2010 - 05:18 PM

Greetings and salutations, all:

I just replaced my AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition with an AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition. Aside from having to go into the BIOS to confirm the processor change on my ASUS Crosshair III motherboard and the fact that I had to reactivate my OS over the phone everything went very well. However, there seems to be an issue with my temperatures.

Here is what I'm getting for temps with the stock heat sink and fan:

CPU: 100
Core 1: 82
Core 2: 82
Core 3: 82
Core 4: 82
Core 5: 82
Core 6: 82

My quad core was always up around 103 to 109 on a good day and around 118 to 123 on a hot day (85 or warmer) for the CPU with the individual cores always around the same temps give a or take a few degrees.
Does anyone have any insight in to this rather peculiar situation?

I'm using Everest to monitor my unit and though I don't think these temps are correct readings, it would be literally cool if they are correct.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Attached Image: everest.JPG


#2 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 18 August 2010 - 06:01 PM

:bluerip: Putting a 1090t in my MSI-890FXA GD70 made no temp dif at all from my 955BE ,are u using the latest Everest ver? 5.5.2136 is the one I'm using.My cpu is at 35F and cores are all at 40F. :clarky:

#3 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,749 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 18 August 2010 - 07:02 PM

sounds like a bios/sensor anomaly. i have cores that report 8F... lol

#4 VoodooGuru

VoodooGuru

    When I get a chance, I get up and dance and do the Curly shuffle

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Location:Fort Atkinson, WI
  • Country:USA

Posted 18 August 2010 - 11:28 PM

View Postm.oreilly, on Aug 18 2010, 02:02 PM, said:

sounds like a bios/sensor anomaly. i have cores that report 8F... lol
NOT AN ANOMALY!!! That's just great... Now what'll I do? Send it through a black hole in the space time continuum to another dimension where such anomalies do not exist and can never occur?

Please advise, soonest! :clarky:

On edit... this just came down the wire so I may be SOL...

Magnetic mega-star challenges black hole theory
:bluerip:

Edited by VoodooGuru, 18 August 2010 - 11:35 PM.


#5 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 19 August 2010 - 01:05 AM

:bluerip: Make sure u have the latest bios flash, sometimes that straightens out the sensors, and try a few other monitoring apps along with the pc health reading in cmos. The earlier vers of Everest had probs with the newer AMD board/sensors....at least mine did :clarky:

#6 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,749 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 19 August 2010 - 02:36 AM

now i have one that says '-13F'...
haha. yeah, a bios/sensor issue i bet. like nuel.dll said, a bios update should set you straight, unless the sensors and bios are not able to handle the x6 correctly in this regard. it happens.

#7 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 19 August 2010 - 02:57 AM

Ops...
How can CPU temp (Tcase) be higher than Cores temps (TJunction)?
Crazy sensors... :bluerip:




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users