Jump to content


Installing XP on Lappy


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Christopholofigus

Christopholofigus

    Motorcycles and running

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Location:South Eastern WA
  • Interests:Holy CRAPBALLS! I totally remember this place!
  • Country:USA

Posted 15 November 2007 - 06:01 PM

Ok, my friend bought a toshiba satellite L45-S7409 lappy that came with Vista basic on it (shudder). I went to install XP on it, to improve performance and battery life, and the XP install disc said that there was no hdd to install the OS on...wtf?? :lol:
:) ;)

So now what? I'm thinking of using my hdd wiper cd to clear the whole thing, boot records and all, but will that fix the problem so that XP can find the hdd. It is a SATA hdd on a lappy (which i have no experience with) but should that really matter?

:christo: Now, don't get me wrong, i really like Vista and all, but for a lappy...come on.

#2 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,735 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 15 November 2007 - 08:15 PM

you might have issues unless you do a reformat the drive prior to attempting an install of xp. i found i was unable to do a similar thing on my desktop. i wish you luck, because i too find it goofy that any but the top end lappys could deal w/ vista. could be some some sort of storage driver issue (i have found vista has many storage drivers included), though i would assume the chipset would already have support in xp...

#3 Christopholofigus

Christopholofigus

    Motorcycles and running

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Location:South Eastern WA
  • Interests:Holy CRAPBALLS! I totally remember this place!
  • Country:USA

Posted 15 November 2007 - 08:33 PM

View Postm.oreilly, on Nov 15 2007, 12:15 PM, said:

you might have issues unless you do a reformat the drive prior to attempting an install of xp. i found i was unable to do a similar thing on my desktop. i wish you luck, because i too find it goofy that any but the top end lappys could deal w/ vista. could be some some sort of storage driver issue (i have found vista has many storage drivers included), though i would assume the chipset would already have support in xp...
Well, luckily she has the recovery DVDs for it if needed...and she hasnt put too much data on it to worry about. Yeah, you would think XP would have all the drivers needed for an install. Do i need to look into getting drivers and a usb floppy drive, or will a usb flash drive work on f6 (if i remember right, it is one of those function buttons).

#4 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,735 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 15 November 2007 - 10:11 PM

that's weird you would need drivers...these days single sata installs w/o F6 are the norm. i'd try formating the drive first (i dunno how the lappy/xp will deal with a usb storage driver hunt... :) ).

#5 Christopholofigus

Christopholofigus

    Motorcycles and running

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Location:South Eastern WA
  • Interests:Holy CRAPBALLS! I totally remember this place!
  • Country:USA

Posted 15 November 2007 - 10:48 PM

Thanks for the confirmation M.o. That is what i was planning on, but it is nice to get the feedback.

#6 Guest_scaramonga_*

Guest_scaramonga_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 November 2007 - 12:54 AM

Quote

these days single sata installs w/o F6 are the norm

XP needs SATA/AHCI drivers loaded before it sees ANY SATA drive, otherwise no drive will be detected, the installation will fail.....period! ;)

XP64, however, seems to not require you to do so :lol:

USB drive will not work as XP looks to load these from the A:\ drive during install and nothing else.

So........

Vista (Noooooooo), XP64 or XP32 using USB Floppy PITA method........ :)

Edited by scaramonga, 16 November 2007 - 12:56 AM.


#7 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,735 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 16 November 2007 - 01:52 AM

not true dude. i recently installed xp home on a sata/dell desktop w/o F6ing storage drivers, floppy, or usb drive...

#8 Christopholofigus

Christopholofigus

    Motorcycles and running

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Location:South Eastern WA
  • Interests:Holy CRAPBALLS! I totally remember this place!
  • Country:USA

Posted 16 November 2007 - 02:16 AM

Crap, so i'm SOL untill i get a USB floppy...sigh. *rolls eyes*

Here i thought clearing the boot records would work.

#9 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,735 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 16 November 2007 - 02:34 AM

you could also try an "n-lite" xp disc w/storage drivers slipstreamed...

#10 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,783 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 16 November 2007 - 02:36 AM

you may be able to make a slipstreamed XP disk with the sata drivers in it

#11 Guest_scaramonga_*

Guest_scaramonga_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 November 2007 - 02:37 AM

View Postm.oreilly, on Nov 16 2007, 01:52 AM, said:

not true dude. i recently installed xp home on a sata/dell desktop w/o F6ing storage drivers, floppy, or usb drive...

I guess I'm out of touch then ;) as I haven't installed XP on a 'single' drive for years :)

#12 Christopholofigus

Christopholofigus

    Motorcycles and running

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Location:South Eastern WA
  • Interests:Holy CRAPBALLS! I totally remember this place!
  • Country:USA

Posted 16 November 2007 - 04:54 AM

:) yeah, i tried an install with my Borg v5 XP DVD. It has drivers up the ying-yang, but it still gave the message that no hard drive was found. weird huh?

#13 Guest_scaramonga_*

Guest_scaramonga_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 November 2007 - 01:03 PM

Just a thought...........

Does BIOS have an option to set SATA as a 'Standard IDE Device'?

#14 Christopholofigus

Christopholofigus

    Motorcycles and running

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,080 posts
  • Location:South Eastern WA
  • Interests:Holy CRAPBALLS! I totally remember this place!
  • Country:USA

Posted 16 November 2007 - 04:41 PM

View Postscaramonga, on Nov 16 2007, 05:03 AM, said:

Just a thought...........

Does BIOS have an option to set SATA as a 'Standard IDE Device'?
I don't think so, i'll have to look again.

#15 Guest_scaramonga_*

Guest_scaramonga_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 November 2007 - 12:04 AM

Try this buddy :) You will require a USB flash drive/key/stick and UltraISO


1. Get the HP Drive Key Boot Utility from HERE
2. Copy your SATA drivers to a temp folder on hard drive.
3. Select the contents of this folder and make a disk image from it in UltraISO.
4. Install HP Drive Key Boot Utility.
5. Plug-in empty USB flash drive (all information will be destroyed)
6. Run HP Drive Key Boot Utility.
7. Select USB flash drive letter.
8. Select Create new or replace existing configuration.
9. Select Floppy Disk.
10. Select Image from file and browse for your image that you created earlier.
11. Click Next, then Finish.
12. Reboot system with USB flash drive connected.
13. Enter BIOS and set USB flash drive as floppy or forced FDD.
14 In BIOS set Legacy Diskette option to Disabled.
15. Save BIOS setting and reboot.
16. Boot from windows XP CD.
17. Press F6.
18. Load drivers from USB flash drive.
19. Do not remove USB flash drive until first reboot.

;)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users