Jump to content


xp will not log off or shutdown


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 simon

simon

    simon says Post

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Location:Buffalo,New York, USA
  • Country:USA

Posted 27 July 2006 - 03:20 PM

I recently was asked how to fix this computer that wont log off or shutdown??? the only way to shutdown is hard shutdown ... ohhh the os is xp HOME with alll updates



compaq 2.6

512 pc400

40gig used 10 gig

#2 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,781 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 27 July 2006 - 06:46 PM

Is it running Roxio Easy CD creator?

#3 simon

simon

    simon says Post

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Location:Buffalo,New York, USA
  • Country:USA

Posted 27 July 2006 - 10:53 PM

no its not I removed that

#4 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,726 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 27 July 2006 - 11:05 PM

how old is the install? is this an 'nlite'? what other apps are on it? i have had this happen when
apps that need network/internet access won't let go...or there are bugs...

#5 theman

theman

    x64 Junkie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Country:USA

Posted 28 July 2006 - 12:03 AM

Is there an adequate virus/spyware prevention system?

#6 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,781 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 28 July 2006 - 01:21 AM

View Postsimon, on Jul 27 2006, 03:53 PM, said:

no its not I removed that
Thanks for the wealth of information! Can we pick your brain for more?

#7 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,726 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 28 July 2006 - 01:29 AM

View PostNvyseal, on Jul 27 2006, 06:21 PM, said:

Thanks for the wealth of information! Can we pick your brain for more?
:D :lol:

#8 simon

simon

    simon says Post

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Location:Buffalo,New York, USA
  • Country:USA

Posted 28 July 2006 - 01:51 AM

there is avg 7.1 to make him happy he plays www.pogo.com thats all he does no web surfing, email or message services. it has all the updates... the install is full xp build 2500 and its a year old

Edited by simon, 28 July 2006 - 01:52 AM.


#9 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,781 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 28 July 2006 - 01:59 AM

a few things to check, if it HAD roxio on it, the registry is messed, there is a patch for it to refix the registry. Also look at the devices, even if you had an old device in it and it has been removed, you need to update the device manager and get rid of all the old unused device drivers. look at the BIOS and see if the settings are correct Power management set right?

#10 Roadrunner

Roadrunner

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Location:Irvine, california
  • Country:USA

Posted 28 July 2006 - 02:10 AM

You have to find the program that is making keeping your OS from shutting down-
Here is one way to do it-

Go to "Run" and type "MSCONFIG" and hit OK-
Click on the tab that says "STARTUP" and uncheck all the boxes
Turn windows off
Restart your computer and verify it will log off-
go back to "MSCONFIG" and add one program at a time (two if you are in a hurry)
when it no longer logs off you have found your culprit

If the Startup is not the problem then try the same procedure with the "SERVICES" tab

This takes a long time but it works well.

Good luck-
B)

#11 simon

simon

    simon says Post

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Location:Buffalo,New York, USA
  • Country:USA

Posted 28 July 2006 - 03:48 PM

I disabled evevrything in MSCONFIG and still will not restart

#12 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 29 July 2006 - 03:21 PM

You know... oldly enough, on my not so legal version of MCE I get a simular problem... I click shut down and all i get is a windows fader error O.o

#13 simon

simon

    simon says Post

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Location:Buffalo,New York, USA
  • Country:USA

Posted 29 July 2006 - 04:54 PM

I did run into one problem norton 2003 (expired) will not completly remove ? is there not a removal tool that can be used ? if this does not work in going to re do the os

#14 clarky3429

clarky3429

    No I will not fix your computer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,712 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Country:Australia

Posted 29 July 2006 - 09:58 PM

either way it has to be a software issue, when you click start - shutdown....what exactly happens?

#15 ShadowFox

ShadowFox

    High Priest

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,969 posts
  • Location:Tempe, AZ
  • Interests:An abundance :P
  • Country:United States

Posted 29 July 2006 - 11:19 PM

I click Shutdown, I get an error with windows "fader" and it acts as if there was a problem with Explorer.exe by this I mean my start menu and Icons disappear for ohh say 5-10 seconds and it appears as if explorer had been restarted, I cilck shut down again, same thing happens, when I click "log off" it logs me off, then I click shut down I get some error 0X100101011 or what the **** ever, then it restarts the computer, not shuts it down. Dunno if that helps any or makes any sense to you. I imagine it has to do with the winlogon.exe




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users