Jump to content


Is it GPU time again?


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#16 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:09 AM

'i don't think patty would like this'...

#17 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:11 AM

if all goes according to plan, it's the classified, along with a backplate (dang, separate purchase...). please stay in stock until my fundage is clear!

#18 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 11 December 2012 - 12:51 PM

View Postm.oreilly, on 11 December 2012 - 01:51 AM, said:


or this intriguing model from gigabyte...
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814125437

they all have top components, so durable

There he goes again wasting money on 'clocked' boards. Advice obviously ignored. :scara:

Posted Image

Quote

“Loud. Too loud for a graphics card, with those tiny fans this thing whines under some load. Just stay away, worst cooling ...”

Quote

Free 2 games w/ purchase, limited offer
<--- Well, at least you will have something to use it for :giggle:

#19 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 December 2012 - 07:53 PM

yay!!! lol

#20 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 12 December 2012 - 01:19 AM

Gotta build that 'e-penis' up boy ;) :giggle:

#21 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 15 December 2012 - 04:29 AM

it's big enough as it is lol
i dunno...i wanted fancy caps/multiple power phases, etc, for durability, as i don't intend to OC atm, but if i did...
found an asus directcuII 7970 for a decent price...but i may have issue with ati and my non osd 2560x1440 monitor...looking like either the ftw or the evga just below it, with 4gigs memory...
the reason for the gigabyte model is that it matches my mechano like mountain mods case. at least once in my life, i'd like 'matching' computer stuff...LOL!!!

#22 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 16 December 2012 - 02:04 AM

http://www.directron...970dc23gd5.html

i don't think you can beat this price for the kit. i was looking at the ghz model, the matrix platinum, but it's out of stock or way over priced atm...

#23 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 16 December 2012 - 04:54 PM

View Postm.oreilly, on 16 December 2012 - 02:04 AM, said:

http://www.directron...970dc23gd5.html

i don't think you can beat this price for the kit. i was looking at the ghz model, the matrix platinum, but it's out of stock or way over priced atm...

And back to the god damn awful, bloated and scary ATI drivers we go lol!! Get ready for multiple BSOD and endless heartache :)

#24 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 17 December 2012 - 04:58 AM

i dunno...new drivers out, less complaints, and after asking a few with these cards, with no issues, they all have an adequate psu and case air flow, and you can access vrm voltage, and/or flash it to an oc'ed bios. that said, i just made a bid, via an ebay listing, on an evga 680 ftw 4gb card...we'll see...

#25 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 18 December 2012 - 01:29 AM

looks like it's going to be the evga gtx 680 FTW 4 gig model ;)

#26 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 19 December 2012 - 05:19 AM

View Postm.oreilly, on 18 December 2012 - 01:29 AM, said:

looks like it's going to be the evga gtx 680 FTW 4 gig model ;)

Congrats Mo. Let me know how many FPS extra you get in Monopoly, also, if it manages to keep up with the SSD drives OK.

:giggle:

#27 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 19 December 2012 - 04:59 PM

:giggle: :emo:

#28 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 23 December 2012 - 01:37 AM

it's in the box! it sure is purdy, a stiff 11" (backplate!). the gpu is too :giggle:

#29 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,770 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 24 December 2012 - 03:25 AM

well, i'm still wanting a 7970...daughter's BF wants to go nvidia...i'm gonna swap the evga for a directcu asus 7970

#30 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 24 December 2012 - 06:02 AM

View Postm.oreilly, on 24 December 2012 - 03:25 AM, said:

well, i'm still wanting a 7970...daughter's BF wants to go nvidia...i'm gonna swap the evga for a directcu asus 7970

Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users