Jump to content


Windows 7 SP1 Fix


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 nabz0r

nabz0r

    Untraceable

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • Interests:Network Security & CS 1.6
  • Country:Sweden

Posted 11 March 2011 - 01:48 PM

Hey people, today at work I/we got like more than 20+ people having problem with the SP1 on Windows 7. I managed to find the solution for it so if any of you have the problem this solution sould work. I have installed SP1 when it first came out and I still don't have prboem with it so far.

Note: Try it at your own risk!


This method works without Safe Mode, without backups, without System Restore, without DISM, and without a Windows 7 DVD repair disc.


INSTRUCTIONS:

01. Reboot your computer while it's starting up.

02. When your computer starts up again, choose the option "Launch Startup Repair"
--> PIC: http://notebooks.com.../01/Recov-1.jpg

03. When the Startup repair starts, click cancel.

04. After you click cancel it will show a box. Click "Don't Send"
--> PIC: http://i52.tinypic.com/xgjriw.png

05. Click the link "View advanced options for recovery and support"

06. In the new window click Command Prompt at the bottom.
--> PIC: http://i51.tinypic.com/50imu8.png

07. In Command Prompt type this and press enter: %windir%\system32\notepad.exe

08. Notepad will open. In notepad go to File-->Open.

09. Change the type of files notepad views from .txt to All Files (see pic)
--> PIC: http://i51.tinypic.com/35nd74z.png

10. Now in Notepad, go to C:\Windows\winsxs\ (or whichever drive Windows is installed on)

11. In that folder, find pending.xml and make a copy of it

12. Now open the original pending.xml (it will load really slow because the file is huge)

13. Press CNTRL+F and search for the following exactly: 0000000000000000.cdf-ms

14. Delete the following text (yours will be a little different):
<Checkpoint/>
<DeleteFile path="\SystemRoot\WinSxS\FileMaps\_0000000000000000.cdf-ms"/>
<MoveFile source="\SystemRoot\WinSxS\Temp\PendingRenames\e56db1db48d4cb0199440000b01de419._0000000000000000.cdf-ms" destination="\SystemRoot\WinSxS\FileMaps\_0000000000000000.cdf-ms"/>

--> PIC: http://i54.tinypic.com/adzpzp.png

Your PC might not have all 3 sections of code (<Checkpoint>, <DeleteFile>, <MoveFile>). Just make sure you delete section "Checkpoint" and whatever other sections have "000000000000000.cdf-ms". They will be right next to eachother.

15. Save the file, close notepad, close command prompt, restart your computer.


Once your computer starts up, do a normal startup (it may stall for 5-10 minutes at the "starting windows" screen, but leave it going) and the Service Pack will install some more stuff and restart a few times and then everything should be working! For some people, it reverts everything and cancels the service pack installation. For other people, the service pack installation completes. Either result is fine.

Edit: This is not mine, I just found it Microsoft's page.

#2 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,246 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 11 March 2011 - 02:36 PM

:bluerip: May I suggest u see a therapist about yer avatar?..... :giggle:

#3 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,836 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 March 2011 - 04:45 PM

nabz, you have a link where you got this info?

#4 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,836 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 13 March 2011 - 04:12 AM

i went ahead and got the full installs from technet. nabz, if you could, please post up the link to the process you outlined?

#5 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 19 March 2011 - 11:52 PM

I updated to SP1 from the Wzor leaked installer, but WU downloaded some extra content a few days after (~50 MB), which it also called "Windows 7 Service Pack 1". Anyway... No problems at all :bluerip:

#6 nabz0r

nabz0r

    Untraceable

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:Lost somewhere in Sweden
  • Interests:Network Security & CS 1.6
  • Country:Sweden

Posted 29 March 2011 - 08:21 PM

Sorry guys for not the late replay. I've got some problems and got very busy with studies, etc.

Anyway, yeah I will try to find the link and post the entire thread as soon as I find it again.

Hehe, I have the best avatar :bluerip:

Yes, some people including me don't have problems with the SP1 but some were unlucky.

#7 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,836 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 30 March 2011 - 12:48 AM

i was able to install using the integrated .iso. needed a fresh one anyways :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users