Jump to content


Which OS's should I run on my new baby?


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#16 GSG-9

GSG-9

    Kicking

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 392 posts
  • Location:Wisconsion
  • Interests:Computers,<br />Drums/Sleeping,<br />Work (I guess?).<br />(In that order)
  • Country:United States

Posted 09 October 2006 - 03:37 AM

View PostLinoman, on Oct 8 2006, 03:29 PM, said:

Nice, thanks guys. Well the good news is that I now have XP 64bit (now all I need is the PC)

I will install XP 32bit dual booting with 64bit. So I can slowly phase 32bit out. Next post in this thread I'll be telling ya guys about my precious

Sounds sweet man. :cool2:

View Postclarky3429, on Oct 8 2006, 06:59 PM, said:

i wouldnt recommend installing vista for at least a few months after its release....its highly likely there will be some critical issues to sort out upon its release

Ya, I will have vista on its release (Intel Edge), but it can't be worse than the beta (Which was not bad Imho).
Will just have to be careful tell they fix the security problems that "Pop up'. :storm:

#17 bluerip

bluerip

    BS Meter embedded, BS attached

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Arnoldland
  • Interests:All things SciFi, Hidden Science,&amp; Hiddin Truth
  • Country:& western, jazz, rock, all

Posted 09 October 2006 - 03:50 AM

XP64 :storm: I've found it to be very bulletproof. It is much better than most think. I believe that in the future XP64 will be regarded with merit. :D So enjoy it now! You won't regret it. :cool2:

#18 othman11

othman11

    head redneck

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Location:St. Charles, Missouri
  • Country:US

Posted 09 October 2006 - 04:43 AM

Make sure you remember to install XP 32, before you install x64 or it won't dual boot. I tried it by mistake......man was that ugly. :cool2:

#19 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 14 October 2006 - 06:39 AM

Well so far I have installed Windows XP 32 bit and it runs perfectally. Now something weird, I tried to install Windows XP 64 bit but it doesn't boot up from the CD? Any ideas?

#20 chriso_86

chriso_86

    Director of Technology Development

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,271 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Interests:GOLFING, biking, movies, gaming (pc and xbox360), hanging with friends.
  • Country:U.S.

Posted 14 October 2006 - 03:39 PM

You sure you have the cd-rom drive set to boot order number one?!
Also, is this the full version or the beta trial thingy? If so maybe your burn is bad!!

#21 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 14 October 2006 - 10:35 PM

Its the full version, I will try burning the ISO file again though

#22 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,766 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 14 October 2006 - 11:36 PM

View PostLinoman, on Oct 13 2006, 11:39 PM, said:

Well so far I have installed Windows XP 32 bit and it runs perfectally. Now something weird, I tried to install Windows XP 64 bit but it doesn't boot up from the CD? Any ideas?
hey lino, chris has a point. have you checked your boot options in your bios? i lhave floppy, then optical, and finaly hd. hope you get it figured soon :chriso:

#23 Camaro

Camaro

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 906 posts
  • Country:USA

Posted 15 October 2006 - 12:10 AM

You burned this version, full or not, did you try making a bootable disk?
or Burn Image, because there is certain files that are absolutly needed to make it bootable but they get stripped out just by extracting or trying to use burn program an make bootable disk.
Alway use the Burn image option in your burning program.

#24 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 15 October 2006 - 07:39 AM

Well I burned the ISO again but still doesn't work. Anyway I think I will just wait until next year, then I will run Vista 64 bit

#25 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 15 October 2006 - 04:56 PM

I feel really really stupid. I finally found out whats wrong with my XP 64 bit. Its for Itanium PC's, no wonder I couldn't get it to work

#26 bluerip

bluerip

    BS Meter embedded, BS attached

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 741 posts
  • Location:Arnoldland
  • Interests:All things SciFi, Hidden Science,&amp; Hiddin Truth
  • Country:& western, jazz, rock, all

Posted 16 October 2006 - 03:43 AM

View PostLinoman, on Oct 15 2006, 09:56 AM, said:

I feel really really stupid. I finally found out whats wrong with my XP 64 bit. Its for Itanium PC's, no wonder I couldn't get it to work

:chriso: That's a relief. Do try the other one. :cool2:

#27 talker

talker

    Being a Priest is not always easy.

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 840 posts
  • Location:Huntville, AL, USA
  • Interests:Ah lets see...gee, I know...computers.
  • Country:USA

Posted 16 October 2006 - 03:53 AM

View PostLinoman, on Oct 15 2006, 11:56 AM, said:

I feel really really stupid. I finally found out whats wrong with my XP 64 bit. Its for Itanium PC's, no wonder I couldn't get it to work

That could present a small problem. And think of this, stupid people can't learn. You learned, therefore you are not stupid. There now, don't you feel better?...talker. :smoke:

#28 Linoman

Linoman

    Established Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,536 posts
  • Country:South Africa (Cape-Town)

Posted 16 October 2006 - 11:31 AM

lol thanks Talker I feel much better. Although now I wonder whether I should bother to get XP 64 bit (considering that my 32 bit is nicely setup) or just wait for Vista 64 bit?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users