Jump to content


New system build for 2013


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 26 September 2012 - 12:47 PM

Hey guys,

After upgrading my good old Socket 775 rig for 2012 I'm now thinking of a new build for 2013. I'm already getting the parts. This week I'm gonna order the MoBo. In the next weeks I'm gonna order the CPU and memory, and later, probably in january I will be getting the VGA (quite expensive).

My new build proposal:
Mobo: Asus Rampage IV skt 2011
CPU: Intel Core i7 3960X @ 5.00 GHz (50x100 MHz)
RAM: 32 GB RipJaws 2133 MHz (8x4GB) 9-10-10-30
VGA: ATi HD 7990 6GB @ 1150 / 6600 MHz (OC)
SSD: 2x Crucial M4 240 GB
HDD: 1x Seagate 2TB SATA-3

What are your thoughts?

#2 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,749 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 27 September 2012 - 03:53 AM

bro, haswell is on it's way. i'd hold off for a month or three...if you really want that x cpu, you may need a chiller or more to keep it at that 5ghz 24/7. i'm at 4.8ghz 24/7, and got everything under water on a 3930k as it is. if i had it to do over, i'd wait, go haswell. 2011 socket is muy $$$$

#3 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,749 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 27 September 2012 - 04:02 AM

Posted Image

i'm not a green person when it comes to computer performance: disabled all c states/speedstep, win7 performance power profile, full power 24/7.

#4 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,749 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 27 September 2012 - 04:35 AM

as for ssds...the new ocz drives will drop this next month...while the m4 are fine, the ocz vector will even out perform the vertex4, which is an astounding ssd already:

two Vertex 4 raid0, OS on the array (not empty drives):

Posted Image

Posted Image

100% incompressible test data. smokin'!!!

#5 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,784 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 27 September 2012 - 04:37 AM

Mike, thats a monster. Can you share your W7 performance rating with us?

#6 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 28 September 2012 - 01:19 AM

View PostNvyseal, on 27 September 2012 - 04:37 AM, said:

Mike, thats a monster. Can you share your W7 performance rating with us?

:giggle: :giggle: :giggle: Like we all go by that! lmao

Attached Image: wei.PNG

MO's will be, lets see, lemmie guess? 7.9? :evilgrin:


Quote

RAM: 32 GB RipJaws 2133 MHz (8x4GB) 9-10-10-30

All OK V, but save some cash and limit yourself to 16Gb MAX, even then, you will never use that ;)

#7 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,784 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 28 September 2012 - 02:24 AM

ah yes, seems you need a bit more in the processing department. You running one of those snapdragons?

View Postscaramonga, on 28 September 2012 - 01:19 AM, said:

:giggle: :giggle: :giggle: Like we all go by that! lmao

Attachment wei.PNG

MO's will be, lets see, lemmie guess? 7.9? :evilgrin:



#8 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,749 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 28 September 2012 - 03:18 AM

an easy 7.9 all way 'round lol! yeah, 8 gigs here. while memory is cheap, unless you are running a bunch of vm's...why?

#9 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,749 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 29 September 2012 - 03:09 AM

ah, vlad is a science guy, sos he most likely has apps that can be mem hungry, and as i remember he does do a few vms here and there. vlad, if you are gonna OC that system, your memory amount may inhibit your target cpu clock (buy high OC'ing ram, and drop it to 1333 for tighter timings and cpu/system stability?)

#10 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 30 September 2012 - 05:00 PM

Thanks for the feedback guys.

Hey, MO, to say the truth 32GB of RAM wouldnt be luxury, but a real need. Some 3D stress-strain analysis softwares that I use daily consume lots of memory. I also need VMs to run specific software, and running a small VM on a RAM disk is very productive. But maybe I go for 32GB of 1600/1866 MHz memory instead of 16 GB of G.Skill 2133 MHz for almost the same budget.

:)

#11 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 01 October 2012 - 01:08 AM

View PostNvyseal, on 28 September 2012 - 02:24 AM, said:

ah yes, seems you need a bit more in the processing department. You running one of those snapdragons?

:kiss: :flower: :heart:

lol

#12 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,784 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 01 October 2012 - 02:57 AM

lol, love you too buddy, one day i wish we could get together and get hammered :)

#13 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 01 October 2012 - 03:13 AM

View PostNvyseal, on 01 October 2012 - 02:57 AM, said:

lol, love you too buddy, one day i wish we could get together and get hammered :)

Christ! Now MO is gonna get jealous Dave :giggle: :flower: :giggle:

#14 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,784 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 01 October 2012 - 03:25 AM

View Postscaramonga, on 01 October 2012 - 03:13 AM, said:

Christ! Now MO is gonna get jealous Dave :giggle: :flower: :giggle:

He can come too! we all love mo. Now back on topic. (we can carry on at the cafe)

#15 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,749 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 01 October 2012 - 04:49 AM

dave, i think scara is thinking 'fisting', which is a hole other thing....

:giggle:

vlad, with 4 channel ram, lots of lower hz at tighter timings is a win. i'd do it. i mentioned getting higher grade ram and down clocking it because you will have better luck tightening it up, and a bit more room with voltages, etc.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users