Jump to content


How many Gflops ?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 16 February 2010 - 05:12 PM

How many Gflops your PCs can do ?

Let's benchmark !

I used IntelBurnTest v2.4, which takes advantage of the linpack benchmark engine.

Get it here: Attached File  IntelBurnTest.zip   1.04MB   631 downloads

****************************************

Here goes the numbers for the rigs in my sig:


Rig 1 (Intel Q6600) standard test: 34 GFLOPS (average)

Attached Image: burntestquad.jpg

~update~


Rig 2 (Athlon64 X2) standard test: 6,40 GFLOPS (average)

Laptop (Sempron) standard test: 1,45 GFLOPS (average)

Wow... My quad is arround 24x faster than my old lapcrap... :cheers:

~update~

43.5 Gflops after installing the new cooling system (stable @ 3.4 GHz )

#2 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 16 February 2010 - 06:54 PM

:cheers: here's my Phenom II 955x4 @ 3.73 ghz.......8 gig DDR3 @ 1605 mhz in ganged(dual ch mode)....Attached Image: Capture.JPG .....avg=48.06 :cheers:

Edited by stormrosson, 16 February 2010 - 06:57 PM.


#3 bizketman101

bizketman101

    Advanced Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Country:United States

Posted 16 February 2010 - 07:38 PM

can't beat that storm! nice :cheers:

#4 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 17 February 2010 - 01:28 AM

Quote

here's my Phenom II 955x4 @ 3.73 ghz.......8 gig DDR3 @ 1605 mhz in ganged (dual ch mode) avg=48.06

Your rig is a great performer Storm ! :cheers:

Quote

can't beat that storm! nice

I'd like to see what Scara's i7 @ 4.1 GHz can do :cheers:

#5 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 17 February 2010 - 01:42 AM

:cheers: my bet on Riks i7 is....eeeehhhhhh around 60 gflops.... :cheers:

#6 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,749 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 17 February 2010 - 01:48 AM

i pulled 52.7 on the old 2.0ghz xeons :cheers:

#7 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 17 February 2010 - 02:33 AM

View Poststormrosson, on Feb 17 2010, 01:42 AM, said:

:gsg9: my bet on Riks i7 is....eeeehhhhhh around 60 gflops.... :cheers:

Quite right mo :cheers: :gsg9:

Attached Image: stressscara.PNG

#8 stormrosson

stormrosson

    Established Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Silver City ,New Mexico
  • Interests:stuff
  • Country:yes

Posted 17 February 2010 - 02:41 AM

:cheers: errrrrrr that was me that guessed 60 for u Rik, and how many cores is that MO? :cheers:

#9 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 17 February 2010 - 02:47 AM

View Poststormrosson, on Feb 17 2010, 02:41 AM, said:

:cheers: errrrrrr that was me that guessed 60 for u Rik, and how many cores is that MO? :gsg9:

:blush: :giggle:

Sorry Mo....eh I mean Strom :cheers: :gsg9:

Only the 4 enabled buddy, the other 4 effect my gaming setups too much ;)

#10 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 17 February 2010 - 03:54 AM

~update~

At 3.5 GHz I get arround 38 Gflops, but the cores reach 88C. :cheers:

I'm not happy with my cooling system, I think it's time to improve it. A Zallman thing maybe !!!

Quote

errrrrrr that was me that guessed 60 for u Rik, and how many cores is that MO?

:cheers:

#11 scaramonga

scaramonga

    CALLING ALL STATIONS

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,175 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Country:Dunno? but it ain't nice.

Posted 17 February 2010 - 04:50 AM

View Postvrosa x64, on Feb 17 2010, 03:54 AM, said:

I'm not happy with my cooling system, I think it's time to improve it. A Zallman thing maybe !!!
:cheers:

Water, luvely cool cool water :gsg9::cheers:

#12 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 17 February 2010 - 01:29 PM

View Postvrosa x64, on Feb 17 2010, 04:54 AM, said:

~update~

At 3.5 GHz I get arround 38 Gflops, but the cores reach 88C. :cheers:

I'm not happy with my cooling system, I think it's time to improve it. A Zallman thing maybe !!!
:cheers:
Go for the Arctic Cooling coolers, they're good, at lowest speed, my CPU stays at 30 Celsius max! And btw, that's also under load... never got above 40

#13 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 21 February 2010 - 04:45 PM

Working with opened case and a big extra fan I managed to keep CPU arround 60 and Tjunction under 76, running IntelBurnTest.


This is just temporary solution until I get my watercooler or whatever...


:cheers:

#14 VROSA

VROSA

    Ghost Member

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,043 posts
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Minas Gerais - Brazil
  • Interests:Hardware, Software, Alphas and Betas, OS Mods, Windows 8.1, Windows 10, Linux, Games, Fun, Friends.
  • Country:Brazil

Posted 24 February 2010 - 12:08 AM

I ended up with an air cooler IceAGE Prima Boss for US$ 90. I ran IntelBurnTest (5x heavy test) with CPU @ 3.4 GHz and Tcase kept arround 50 and Tjunction between 65-68, what is aceptable, considering that it's +46% oc'ed.

Quote

At 3.5 GHz I get arround 38 Gflops, but the cores reach 88C.

It's interesting how temperature affects performance. Now my rig can do 43.5 Gflops with cores running arround 20C cooler.


:cheers:

#15 bizketman101

bizketman101

    Advanced Member

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Country:United States

Posted 24 February 2010 - 12:38 AM

Nice! that's my next buy is a new cpu fan & heat sink, or a water cooling rig. (but that still scares me)

Edited by bizketman101, 24 February 2010 - 12:54 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users