Jump to content


Help!


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
14 replies to this topic

#1 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,782 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 21 January 2009 - 06:00 PM

i am in the middle of of doing my taxes on line, and i need adobe reader to work (in win7 32bit). can anyone help me get it running? i am unable to open any online pdf...i can install "downthemall" and make an attempt, but i would have to shut down FF, and attempt to do it all over again if all my info gets lost...

#2 os collector

os collector

    2nd Innings

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Location:IND
  • Interests:programming, Reverse Engineering, Writing tutorials
  • Country:india

Posted 21 January 2009 - 07:28 PM

get a freash copy of adobe reader 9 from site & install that

#3 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,782 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 21 January 2009 - 07:36 PM

View Postos collector, on Jan 21 2009, 11:28 AM, said:

get a freash copy of adobe reader 9 from site & install that

did. it just shows a small window with a blue "?" in it. i ended up using another rig (xp 32bit) to look up the pdf info. i dunno what gives. i might have turned off some dependency that reader needs. damned if i know which.

#4 hog

hog

    official linguist

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,302 posts
  • Location:Montreal area, QC
  • Country:Canada

Posted 21 January 2009 - 07:45 PM

That's the price to pay for being a smart-ass and using beta software. ;) :drunk:


:roadrunner:;)

#5 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,782 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 21 January 2009 - 07:48 PM

:roadrunner:

#6 banj0

banj0

    American Idle

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location:Detroit
  • Country:States

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:49 PM

Use google docs! It works with just about everything. docs.google.com

It's a lifesaver when working on machines without Office and you don't wanna install OpenOffice. Works with .pdf too.

#7 Guest_scaramonga_*

Guest_scaramonga_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:01 PM

Works great on my 'non-server' machine.....






:roadrunner:

#8 Christopholofigus

Christopholofigus

    Motorcycles and running

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,084 posts
  • Location:Evans Georgia
  • Interests:Holy CRAPBALLS! I totally remember this place!
  • Country:USA

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:32 PM

Well, a little late....but Acrobat (full version from CS4) works great in Win7.

#9 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,782 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:58 PM

anybody try "foxit"?

thanks for the google docs recommendation, i'll look it up

#10 David_Heavey

David_Heavey

    =IBF2= Cofounder

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 949 posts
  • Location:Ireland
  • Country:Ireland

Posted 22 January 2009 - 03:12 AM

MoMan .. I use Foxit all the time. Been using it for about a year and a bit now. I swear by it.

#11 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,782 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 22 January 2009 - 03:36 AM

thanks man. i notice though you have to make an acount to use it?
i can get adobe running if i open reader first, then click the link to the pdf (crummy, but hey). or use downthemall and then open on the desktop. i just did the usual in turning off 'unneeded' stuff in service management...

#12 Tweak

Tweak

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 674 posts
  • Country:US

Posted 22 January 2009 - 06:08 AM

This is why Sumatra and FoxIt are such good alternatives to Adobe, and the fact that Sumatra can be used as a portable and has no services or extra startup items unlike Adobe, I'll keep telling you this till you get Adobe working right so expect to hear it sometime again soon Mike. :roadrunner:

#13 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,782 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 22 January 2009 - 06:31 AM

i don't want to sign up for "an account" to use it, or any other alternative. i ust want to see the frikin pdf info. i hate adobe and the shite pdf crap to begin with.

#14 banj0

banj0

    American Idle

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,526 posts
  • Location:Detroit
  • Country:States

Posted 22 January 2009 - 07:31 AM

that's why gdocs is your friend MO.

btw, Happy New Year my friend! :roadrunner:

#15 Tweak

Tweak

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 674 posts
  • Country:US

Posted 22 January 2009 - 02:28 PM

View Postm.oreilly, on Jan 22 2009, 01:31 AM, said:

i don't want to sign up for "an account" to use it, or any other alternative. i ust want to see the frikin pdf info. i hate adobe and the shite pdf crap to begin with.

That is why I mentioned several times to give Sumatra a go, it works great, I changed one setting so adjust the scrolling and it works perfectly, use it with the laptop I have recently been given as it runs great but is a little older, has 2GB mem but the cpu isn't impressive so I wanted something lite. :roadrunner:

By the way... NO REGISTRATION or other crap, simple download, portable or installer type, your call but portable almost certainly would work, plus I think the installer version is just the portable version unzipped so either should work.

Edited by Tweak, 22 January 2009 - 02:30 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users