Jump to content


F@H SMP under Ubuntu: only one core active?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,765 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 January 2008 - 12:14 AM

i installed ubuntu (to see if i could get better speeds than i had been getting folding with the VMware client/ubuntu image in windows). i could only get one core running folding (as per the ubuntu performance monitor). is this common? it showed that f@h was using the other cores, but that they were "sleeping". i am now giving the windows smp client a go (in 32bit xp), where it shows 4 out of 8 cores running 100%. i'll probably have more questions re the windows smp client, so if anybody has any experience with it, give me a holler :mooning:


:moreilly:

#2 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 11 January 2008 - 12:40 AM

you should install multiple clients, one per core

#3 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,765 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 January 2008 - 12:47 AM

so i will be working on 8 different WUs? with the windows smp client, i'm shaving 5 minutes off the VM/ubuntu step time, works on 4 cores as advertised (as in working, unlike directly under ubuntu), seems really stable, and i don't have to spend any time in that dreary linux OS...

:moreilly:

#4 Sphere

Sphere

    The moth next to my brain is Bart, say hi to him if you like

  • Sponsor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Location:*tap* Behind ya!
  • Interests:I'm a Dutchy, that means I'm not a German (which doesn't sound/look the same to me!) also, being a Dutchy means I'm an idiot... sort off!

    And I def. need to get a real life again... I'm bored with my current life, ideas can be pm'd to me!
  • Country:Dutchyland

Posted 11 January 2008 - 02:01 AM

doesn't have to

You need to install them separately, but with a bit of Linux knowledge, you can make them cooperate

iirc, they actually do already from the start...

#5 brewin

brewin

    Victory is mine!

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,261 posts
  • Location:Missouri
  • Interests:Anything interesting.
  • Country:USA

Posted 11 January 2008 - 02:35 AM

You probably just didn't pass it the -smp switch. It will only use one core if you don't do this.

#6 m.oreilly

m.oreilly

    rog'er wilco

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,765 posts
  • Country:lower uncton

Posted 11 January 2008 - 03:01 AM

View Postbrewin, on Jan 10 2008, 06:35 PM, said:

You probably just didn't pass it the -smp switch. It will only use one core if you don't do this.

thanks guys. brew, i entered the lines you posted for getting ubuntu to install the client for VM, but was unaware of the thing you're mentioning. i wonder if i can get it to run in mandriva (i just can't take any way, shape, or form of ubuntu, save mint linux...) :moreilly:

#7 brewin

brewin

    Victory is mine!

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,261 posts
  • Location:Missouri
  • Interests:Anything interesting.
  • Country:USA

Posted 11 January 2008 - 03:45 AM

View Postm.oreilly, on Jan 10 2008, 10:01 PM, said:

thanks guys. brew, i entered the lines you posted for getting ubuntu to install the client for VM, but was unaware of the thing you're mentioning. i wonder if i can get it to run in mandriva (i just can't take any way, shape, or form of ubuntu, save mint linux...) :moreilly:
It should've worked then. But if you've got the Windows client working, then stick with that. It'll be much faster than the Linux client in a VM, especially since you have two quad-cores.

You can set up two instances of the Windows SMP client to utilize all 8 cores, but I can't tell you how since I've never done it.

#8 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,786 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 11 January 2008 - 03:54 AM

:moreilly: i lost a WU today on one of my folders because the vac accidentally hit the power-var off switch. was going to try to make the 1MIL mark by the end of Feb, but i dont think that helped

#9 brewin

brewin

    Victory is mine!

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,261 posts
  • Location:Missouri
  • Interests:Anything interesting.
  • Country:USA

Posted 11 January 2008 - 04:04 AM

View PostNvyseal, on Jan 10 2008, 10:54 PM, said:

:moreilly: i lost a WU today on one of my folders because the vac accidentally hit the power-var off switch. was going to try to make the 1MIL mark by the end of Feb, but i dont think that helped
We had some tornadoes in the area a few days ago (not common in winter) and my power went off. I lost a WU on my main machine and forgot to turn my PS3 back on until last night. I don't think I've been folding at full capacity for a whole week since summer. First it was the ice storm in fall and now tornadoes in winter. The odd weather we have here doesn't help me.

#10 Nvyseal

Nvyseal

    Chairman of the Board

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,786 posts
  • Location:From the whatever it is, Pluto
  • Country:USA

Posted 11 January 2008 - 04:09 AM

View Postbrewin, on Jan 10 2008, 08:04 PM, said:

We had some tornadoes in the area a few days ago (not common in winter) and my power went off. I lost a WU on my main machine and forgot to turn my PS3 back on until last night. I don't think I've been folding at full capacity for a whole week since summer. First it was the ice storm in fall and now tornadoes in winter. The odd weather we have here doesn't help me.
Sorry to hear that bud! hope things stabilize out there soon. At least we got MO and others picking up for all our slack :moreilly:

#11 brewin

brewin

    Victory is mine!

  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,261 posts
  • Location:Missouri
  • Interests:Anything interesting.
  • Country:USA

Posted 11 January 2008 - 04:19 AM

View PostNvyseal, on Jan 10 2008, 11:09 PM, said:

Sorry to hear that bud! hope things stabilize out there soon.
If the weather stabilized here, then I'd be really worried.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users